The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player control on a throw in? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/83034-player-control-throw.html)

Adam Mon Nov 14, 2011 01:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 798375)
Then you need to dig one up, too.

Probably ought to check the mail box rather than the closet. Just sayin'.

BillyMac Mon Nov 14, 2011 06:31pm

Somebody Stole The Word Inbounds ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 798358)
4-12-1 defines player control.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 798366)
Compare this year's book to the 2009-2010 (and probably last year's) book.

2011-12 NFHS 4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

2010-11 NFHS 4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live inbounds.

BillyMac Mon Nov 14, 2011 06:35pm

Now That the Word Inbounds Has Disappeared ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798351)
Inbounder A1, while holding the ball out of bounds, preparing for a throwin, reaches across the boundary and pushes B2, who is inbounds, to create more space. Player control foul?

Player control foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 798359)
Doesn't matter, you aren't shooting free throws.

It matters, ever so slightly. Are you going with the hand behind the head signal (player control), or the one hand punch signal (team control)?

kwatson Mon Nov 14, 2011 07:26pm

If I am reading the rule correctly it would be team control with no shots. NFHS

BillyMac Mon Nov 14, 2011 07:46pm

Well, It's Some Type Of Control Foul ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798351)
Inbounder A1, while holding the ball out of bounds, preparing for a throwin, reaches across the boundary and pushes B2, who is inbounds, to create more space.

Quote:

Originally Posted by kwatson (Post 798500)
If I am reading the rule correctly it would be team control with no shots. NFHS

Why not a player control foul?

Camron Rust Mon Nov 14, 2011 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798504)
Why not a player control foul?

Does it really matter....they're penalized EXACTLY the same. Once the team control foul was instituted, the player control foul really became unnecessary.

Terrapins Fan Mon Nov 14, 2011 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 798350)
Have you even looked in the rule book? Trust me, no one here is going to just hand you the answer to a test question.

Find the section on player control and see if it says anything about the throw in.

Dude, you're acting like a moron.

I have scored in the high 90's for the last 7 years on part 1 and part 2. I did 97 on the test last night.

I asked a simple question. If YOU don't have the answer, please, don't answer.

Thanks everyone else. I did figure it out. In the past there was no team control when the ball was OOB, so I had to question player control.

Adam Mon Nov 14, 2011 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798506)
Does it really matter....they're penalized EXACTLY the same. Once the team control foul was instituted, the player control foul really became unnecessary.

Almost

Camron Rust Tue Nov 15, 2011 01:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 798513)
Almost

I don't consider whether a basket counts or not a part of the penalty...just who is recorded for a foul, FTs and/or who gets the ball.

SoInZebra Tue Nov 15, 2011 06:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798351)
Some, on this Forum, have stated that a player is in control while holding, or dribbling, a live ball, inbounds. I can't find a rule reference for inbounds, but I'm sure an esteemed member will be moseying along soon to give us the correct citation.

How about a twist? Inbounder A1, while holding the ball out of bounds, preparing for a throwin, reaches across the boundary and pushes B2, who is inbounds, to create more space. Player control foul?

A thrower reaches out to clear space....this sounds intentional not common and therefore not PC.

BillyMac Tue Nov 15, 2011 06:55am

Pot And Kettle ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SoInZebra (Post 798541)
A thrower reaches out to clear space, this sounds intentional not common and therefore not PC.

Hey. One twist at a time. This ain't a game of Twister. Start your own thread.

BillyMac Tue Nov 15, 2011 07:15am

You Never Know When An Observer Is Observing ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798506)
Does it really matter, they're penalized EXACTLY the same.

Slightly. Are you going with the hand behind the head signal (player control), or the one hand punch signal (team control)?

Do you indicate a block signal when the foul was really a push? "They're penalized EXACTLY the same".

Do you indicate an illegal dribble signal when the violation was really a travel? "They're penalized EXACTLY the same".

I know that these are nit-picking, "academic", questions, but isn't one function of the Forum to educate?

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798506)
Does it really matter....they're penalized EXACTLY the same. Once the team control foul was instituted, the player control foul really became unnecessary.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 798513)
Almost

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798530)
I don't consider whether a basket counts or not a part of the penalty...just who is recorded for a foul, FTs and/or who gets the ball.

And the free throws are why Snaqs is correct. An airborne shooter is not covered by the team control foul rule. Without the player control foul, a "try, release, crash" could result in a 1-and-1 for the defender. So even with the team control foul at your disposal, you still need the player control foul.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Nov 15, 2011 08:45am

An Esteemed Member Who Is Just Moseying Along Replies.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 798328)
It's a question on Part 1.

A player is in control when holding a live ball.

But when he is holding the ball for a throw in, it's live, is he in player control then?


BillyMac:

Hoped that an Esteemed Member of the Basketball Forum would mosey along and post one of his well written opinions on the subject being discussed, and I am happy to oblige, :D.

The Cliff Notes version: Yes, the Thrower has PC while holding a Live Ball during a throw-in.

If the masses demand it, I will be more that happy, :D, to post the short explanation of my long version.

MTD, Sr.

tjones1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 798553)
BillyMac:

Hoped that an Esteemed Member of the Basketball Forum would mosey along and post one of his well written opinions on the subject being discussed, and I am happy to oblige, :D.

The Cliff Notes version: Yes, the Thrower has PC while holding a Live Ball during a throw-in.

If the masses demand it, I will be more that happy, :D, to post the short explanation of my long version.

MTD, Sr.

Go, Go! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1