The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player control on a throw in? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/83034-player-control-throw.html)

Terrapins Fan Sun Nov 13, 2011 05:25pm

Player control on a throw in?
 
It's a question on Part 1.

A player is in control when holding a live ball.

But when he is holding the ball for a throw in, it's live, is he in player control then?

fiasco Sun Nov 13, 2011 06:00pm

What does the rule book say?

Terrapins Fan Sun Nov 13, 2011 06:03pm

Thanks for nothing dude.

I am trying to get clarification.

I don't believe there is player control for a throw in, just team control.

Do you have an opinion? a rule reference?

Mark Padgett Sun Nov 13, 2011 06:37pm

I don't have a rulebook here in the closet, but if I remember correctly, the definition of player control is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. That should answer your question.

fiasco Sun Nov 13, 2011 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 798344)
Thanks for nothing dude.

I am trying to get clarification.

I don't believe there is player control for a throw in, just team control.

Do you have an opinion? a rule reference?

Have you even looked in the rule book? Trust me, no one here is going to just hand you the answer to a test question.

Find the section on player control and see if it says anything about the throw in.

BillyMac Sun Nov 13, 2011 06:42pm

Inbounds ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 798344)
I don't believe there is player control for a throw in, just team control. Rule reference?

Some, on this Forum, have stated that a player is in control while holding, or dribbling, a live ball, inbounds. I can't find a rule reference for inbounds, but I'm sure an esteemed member will be moseying along soon to give us the correct citation.

How about a twist? Inbounder A1, while holding the ball out of bounds, preparing for a throwin, reaches across the boundary and pushes B2, who is inbounds, to create more space. Player control foul?

Adam Sun Nov 13, 2011 07:17pm

4-12-1 defines player control.

APG Sun Nov 13, 2011 07:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798351)
Some, on this Forum, have stated that a player is in control while holding, or dribbling, a live ball, inbounds. I can't find a rule reference for inbounds, but I'm sure an esteemed member will be moseying along soon to give us the correct citation.

How about a twist? Inbounder A1, while holding the ball out of bounds, preparing for a throwin, reaches across the boundary and pushes B2, who is inbounds, to create more space. Player control foul?

Doesn't matter...you aren't shooting free throws.

Adam Sun Nov 13, 2011 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 798359)
Doesn't matter...you aren't shooting free throws.

What if A1, OOB for a throw in, attempts a jump shot. His momentum takes him onto the court where he crashes into B1 before landing....

BktBallRef Sun Nov 13, 2011 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 798360)
What if A1, OOB for a throw in, attempts a jump shot. His momentum takes him onto the court where he crashes into B1 before landing....

Doesn't matter...you aren't shooting free throws.

bob jenkins Sun Nov 13, 2011 07:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798351)
Some, on this Forum, have stated that a player is in control while holding, or dribbling, a live ball, inbounds. I can't find a rule reference for inbounds, but I'm sure an esteemed member will be moseying along soon to give us the correct citation.

Compare this year's book to the 2009-2010 (and probably last year's) book.

Adam Sun Nov 13, 2011 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 798365)
Doesn't matter...you aren't shooting free throws.

Sorry, I was doing a celebrity imression. It seems to have fallen flat.

BktBallRef Sun Nov 13, 2011 08:37pm

Anyone know what a flitter is?
 
Flat as a flitter.

Freddy Sun Nov 13, 2011 09:15pm

Are You Out Yet?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 798349)
I don't have a rulebook here in the closet, but . . . .

Not that there's anything wrong with that... :D

Scrapper1 Sun Nov 13, 2011 11:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 798349)
I don't have a rulebook here in the closet, but if I remember correctly, the definition of player control is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. That should answer your question.

Then you need to dig one up, too.

Adam Mon Nov 14, 2011 01:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 798375)
Then you need to dig one up, too.

Probably ought to check the mail box rather than the closet. Just sayin'.

BillyMac Mon Nov 14, 2011 06:31pm

Somebody Stole The Word Inbounds ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 798358)
4-12-1 defines player control.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 798366)
Compare this year's book to the 2009-2010 (and probably last year's) book.

2011-12 NFHS 4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

2010-11 NFHS 4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live inbounds.

BillyMac Mon Nov 14, 2011 06:35pm

Now That the Word Inbounds Has Disappeared ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798351)
Inbounder A1, while holding the ball out of bounds, preparing for a throwin, reaches across the boundary and pushes B2, who is inbounds, to create more space. Player control foul?

Player control foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 798359)
Doesn't matter, you aren't shooting free throws.

It matters, ever so slightly. Are you going with the hand behind the head signal (player control), or the one hand punch signal (team control)?

kwatson Mon Nov 14, 2011 07:26pm

If I am reading the rule correctly it would be team control with no shots. NFHS

BillyMac Mon Nov 14, 2011 07:46pm

Well, It's Some Type Of Control Foul ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798351)
Inbounder A1, while holding the ball out of bounds, preparing for a throwin, reaches across the boundary and pushes B2, who is inbounds, to create more space.

Quote:

Originally Posted by kwatson (Post 798500)
If I am reading the rule correctly it would be team control with no shots. NFHS

Why not a player control foul?

Camron Rust Mon Nov 14, 2011 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798504)
Why not a player control foul?

Does it really matter....they're penalized EXACTLY the same. Once the team control foul was instituted, the player control foul really became unnecessary.

Terrapins Fan Mon Nov 14, 2011 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 798350)
Have you even looked in the rule book? Trust me, no one here is going to just hand you the answer to a test question.

Find the section on player control and see if it says anything about the throw in.

Dude, you're acting like a moron.

I have scored in the high 90's for the last 7 years on part 1 and part 2. I did 97 on the test last night.

I asked a simple question. If YOU don't have the answer, please, don't answer.

Thanks everyone else. I did figure it out. In the past there was no team control when the ball was OOB, so I had to question player control.

Adam Mon Nov 14, 2011 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798506)
Does it really matter....they're penalized EXACTLY the same. Once the team control foul was instituted, the player control foul really became unnecessary.

Almost

Camron Rust Tue Nov 15, 2011 01:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 798513)
Almost

I don't consider whether a basket counts or not a part of the penalty...just who is recorded for a foul, FTs and/or who gets the ball.

SoInZebra Tue Nov 15, 2011 06:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798351)
Some, on this Forum, have stated that a player is in control while holding, or dribbling, a live ball, inbounds. I can't find a rule reference for inbounds, but I'm sure an esteemed member will be moseying along soon to give us the correct citation.

How about a twist? Inbounder A1, while holding the ball out of bounds, preparing for a throwin, reaches across the boundary and pushes B2, who is inbounds, to create more space. Player control foul?

A thrower reaches out to clear space....this sounds intentional not common and therefore not PC.

BillyMac Tue Nov 15, 2011 06:55am

Pot And Kettle ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SoInZebra (Post 798541)
A thrower reaches out to clear space, this sounds intentional not common and therefore not PC.

Hey. One twist at a time. This ain't a game of Twister. Start your own thread.

BillyMac Tue Nov 15, 2011 07:15am

You Never Know When An Observer Is Observing ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798506)
Does it really matter, they're penalized EXACTLY the same.

Slightly. Are you going with the hand behind the head signal (player control), or the one hand punch signal (team control)?

Do you indicate a block signal when the foul was really a push? "They're penalized EXACTLY the same".

Do you indicate an illegal dribble signal when the violation was really a travel? "They're penalized EXACTLY the same".

I know that these are nit-picking, "academic", questions, but isn't one function of the Forum to educate?

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798506)
Does it really matter....they're penalized EXACTLY the same. Once the team control foul was instituted, the player control foul really became unnecessary.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 798513)
Almost

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798530)
I don't consider whether a basket counts or not a part of the penalty...just who is recorded for a foul, FTs and/or who gets the ball.

And the free throws are why Snaqs is correct. An airborne shooter is not covered by the team control foul rule. Without the player control foul, a "try, release, crash" could result in a 1-and-1 for the defender. So even with the team control foul at your disposal, you still need the player control foul.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Nov 15, 2011 08:45am

An Esteemed Member Who Is Just Moseying Along Replies.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 798328)
It's a question on Part 1.

A player is in control when holding a live ball.

But when he is holding the ball for a throw in, it's live, is he in player control then?


BillyMac:

Hoped that an Esteemed Member of the Basketball Forum would mosey along and post one of his well written opinions on the subject being discussed, and I am happy to oblige, :D.

The Cliff Notes version: Yes, the Thrower has PC while holding a Live Ball during a throw-in.

If the masses demand it, I will be more that happy, :D, to post the short explanation of my long version.

MTD, Sr.

tjones1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 798553)
BillyMac:

Hoped that an Esteemed Member of the Basketball Forum would mosey along and post one of his well written opinions on the subject being discussed, and I am happy to oblige, :D.

The Cliff Notes version: Yes, the Thrower has PC while holding a Live Ball during a throw-in.

If the masses demand it, I will be more that happy, :D, to post the short explanation of my long version.

MTD, Sr.

Go, Go! :)

billyu2 Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798489)
Player control foul.



It matters, ever so slightly. Are you going with the hand behind the head signal (player control), or the one hand punch signal (team control)?



Here in the Land that is round at both ends and hi in the middle we use the same signal for both: hand behind the head, followed by the directional signal.

APG Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798544)
Slightly. Are you going with the hand behind the head signal (player control), or the one hand punch signal (team control)?

Do you indicate a block signal when the foul was really a push? "They're penalized EXACTLY the same".

Do you indicate an illegal dribble signal when the violation was really a travel? "They're penalized EXACTLY the same".

I know that these are nit-picking, "academic", questions, but isn't one function of the Forum to educate?

Except in this case, if you punched or do the stupid player control signal, you're still technically right with either...you know if you want to go that route.

APG Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SoInZebra (Post 798541)
A thrower reaches out to clear space....this sounds intentional not common and therefore not PC.

Why does it have to be intentional? Players try to clear out space all the time and we're not trying the X's up. In fact, I'd say that 9/10, if this situation were to actually present itself, it wouldn't be an intentional foul.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 798544)
Slightly. Are you going with the hand behind the head signal (player control), or the one hand punch signal (team control)?

Do you indicate a block signal when the foul was really a push? "They're penalized EXACTLY the same".

Do you indicate an illegal dribble signal when the violation was really a travel? "They're penalized EXACTLY the same".

I know that these are nit-picking, "academic", questions, but isn't one function of the Forum to educate?

A signal is not a penalty.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 798547)
And the free throws are why Snaqs is correct. An airborne shooter is not covered by the team control foul rule. Without the player control foul, a "try, release, crash" could result in a 1-and-1 for the defender. So even with the team control foul at your disposal, you still need the player control foul.

Still the same penalty for the two fouls whenever they can currently be called. And if they merged them into one, the airborne shooter exception would be blended into the team control foul.

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798596)
Still the same penalty for the two fouls whenever they can currently be called.

But that's not what you said earlier.

Quote:

And if they merged them into one, the airborne shooter exception would be blended into the team control foul.
Perhaps, but again, that's not what you said. You said:

Quote:

Once the team control foul was instituted, the player control foul really became unnecessary.
And not to be overly anal, but that's just not true. Even after the team control foul was instituted, there was a situation remaining that was a player control foul, which was NOT a team control foul. That's my only point, and it's the point that I think Snaq was making when he correctly said "Almost".

Adam Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:43pm

Scrapper is right. That was my point.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 15, 2011 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 798599)
But that's not what you said earlier.


Perhaps, but again, that's not what you said. You said:

And not to be overly anal, but that's just not true. Even after the team control foul was instituted, there was a situation remaining that was a player control foul, which was NOT a team control foul. That's my only point, and it's the point that I think Snaq was making when he correctly said "Almost".

And my point was that splitting them into two separate names serves no benefit because the very same exception that is tacked on the the player control foul for an airborne shooter could just as easily be tacked onto the team control foul. Having both is not necessary at all. The PENALTY remains the same

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Nov 15, 2011 04:03pm

Not in the land of the OhioHSAA.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 798573)
[/B]

Here in the Land that is round at both ends and hi in the middle we use the same signal for both: hand behind the head, followed by the directional signal.


No we do NOT use both signals in Buckeye Land. What the NFHS Basketball Rules Committee Chairman (an OhioHSAA Adminstrator who shall remain nameless) has ruled: That the OhioHSAA will not follow the NFHS Basketball Rules Committee Signals Chart concerning the correct signal for Team Control Fouls. This decision was made at the start of the 2009-10 year, the first year the TCF signal was added to the NFHS Basketball Rules Committee Signals Chart.

The OhioHSAA wants its officials to use only Signal #34 for all Team Control Fouls, both Player Control Fouls and non-PCF TCFs. The NFHS Basketball Rules Committee Chairman's reasoning for this blatant deviation from the Signals Chart is that and I quote: "It would be confusing to the Scorer." :eek:

I am going to stop now.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. To my knowledge, the OhioHSAA did not seek permission of the NFHS to deviate from the Official Signals Chart.

billyu2 Tue Nov 15, 2011 04:32pm

slow down, read again carefully
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 798643)
No we do NOT use both signals in Buckeye Land. What the NFHS Basketball Rules Committee Chairman (an OhioHSAA Adminstrator who shall remain nameless) has ruled: That the OhioHSAA will not follow the NFHS Basketball Rules Committee Signals Chart concerning the correct signal for Team Control Fouls. This decision was made at the start of the 2009-10 year, the first year the TCF signal was added to the NFHS Basketball Rules Committee Signals Chart.

The OhioHSAA wants its officials to use only Signal #34 for all Team Control Fouls, both Player Control Fouls and non-PCF TCFs. The NFHS Basketball Rules Committee Chairman's reasoning for this blatant deviation from the Signals Chart is that and I quote: "It would be confusing to the Scorer." :eek:

I am going to stop now.




P.S. To my knowledge, the OhioHSAA did not seek permission of the NFHS to deviate from the Official Signals Chart.

Mark, didn't say OHSAA uses both. I said we use the same signal for both (PC andTC) hand behind the head which is, as you said, signal #34. (for all those officials who memorize signal #'s)

Adam Tue Nov 15, 2011 08:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 798655)
Mark, didn't say OHSAA uses both. I said we use the same signal for both (PC andTC) hand behind the head which is, as you said, signal #34. (for all those officials who memorize signal #'s)

Which is a deviation.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Nov 15, 2011 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 798655)
Mark, didn't say OHSAA uses both. I said we use the same signal for both (PC andTC) hand behind the head which is, as you said, signal #34. (for all those officials who memorize signal #'s)


DOH!!

MTD, Sr.


P.S. But I am sure you get the feeling that I am not happy with a certain OhioHSAA Administrator who shall not be named. :D

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rex 876 (Post 798701)
Thanks for nothing dude.

I am trying to get clarification.

I don't believe there is player control for a throw in, just team control.

Do you have an opinion? a rule reference?
http://www.mboxmusic.info/jh2.jpg
http://www.mboxmusic.info/2.jpg


Rex:

Read Post #29 of this thread. I wrote it and will answer your question.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 798709)
Rex:

Read Post #29 of this thread. I wrote it and will answer your question.

MTD, Sr.

Mark, it's spam. He just quoted terrapin to post his web link.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 798720)
Mark, it's spam. He just quoted terrapin to post his web link.


DOH!!! :confused: See what happens when you become a sexagenaian. LOL

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1