The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2011, 12:41am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by berserkBBK View Post
He obviously doesn't ref MS games
More like he's never seen a basketball game in his life. A team down by a point and heaving it with little time left in the game? A play you see at every freakin' level.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2011, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 118
Ego can't admit he kicked it
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2011, 12:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
More like he's never seen a basketball game in his life. A team down by a point and heaving it with little time left in the game? A play you see at every freakin' level.
I think it was more of him covering his tracks when he found out that, by rule, he was wrong. Trying to use a different rule to justify the call.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2011, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Officiating the game situation

Case Book 9.8.A "While the ball is in the air traveling from backcourt to frontcourt, the 10-second count is reached."
RULING: Violation by Team A as the ball has not gained frontcourt location.

I made this call, years ago, when the ball was definitely passed at the 9-second point in my count, and traveled in the air to a 12 count, without gaining frontcourt location.

In the OP, the game situation trumps this call, because of the time remaining, and the obvious shot attempt. There is no way that it was not a shot.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2011, 10:22am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
That case play involves a pass. Camron was right, team control ends as soon as the shot is released, so the 10 second count would terminate. If the shot is blocked, and A1 recovers, he gets a new 10 seconds (a highly unlikely scenario due to the fact that no one takes this shot with more than 10 seconds on the clock.).

The game situation does not trump the call, although it may inform your decision regarding whether it is a shot or pass. I think that's what you meant, but I wanted to state that if this was an actual violation, the game situation shouldn't matter.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2011, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Agreed. I was just trying to stress that at the end of a game, we need to be aware of all aspects of the game situation, including the probability of a last second shot attempt, whether it is initiated from the backcourt or the frontcourt.
Thanks.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1