![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Sun Nov 06, 2011 at 06:15pm. |
|
|||
Htbt
Quote: "My player was bumped and lost his balance, left the ball in bounds, returned and placed two feet in bounds and was the first to touch the ball."
So, if the contact caused your player to go out of bounds, while holding the ball, I think, most often, the bump would be judged as sufficient to call a foul. Similarly, if the ball handler, holding the ball, were bumped and the contact caused him to travel, I think, most often, the contact would be judged sufficient to call a foul. In the scenario from the OP, since there is no "first to touch" rule in HS, some degree of judgement may enter, since the player leaving the court was not a violation, and the player was able to continue normal basketball actions, after returning inbounds. With the quoted additional explanation of the play, I would be inclined to call the foul.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . . ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Case Book Plays ...
Quote:
floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did. 7.1.1 SITUATION C: A1 blocks a pass near the sideline and the ball goes into A1’s front court. A1’s momentum carries him/her out of bounds. He/she immediately returns inbounds, secures control of the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores. RULING: Legal. (4-35-1a; 7-1-2; 9-3) 7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
In Bounds? | curtstrouth | Basketball | 7 | Thu Oct 29, 2009 04:04pm |
in or out of bounds | MRD | Football | 5 | Sun Sep 30, 2007 07:38pm |
Help-Player in bounds and out of bounds | RecRefNC | Basketball | 15 | Mon Dec 06, 2004 10:46am |
in/out of bounds | dguig | Basketball | 11 | Sun Nov 14, 2004 02:36am |
Interception out-of-bounds tossed to another player in-bounds | mrcrumley | Football | 22 | Wed Oct 27, 2004 07:32am |