The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 27, 2011, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 307
Both rule sets support the officials decision. It's not basket interference because of the ball location and it's not goaltending because of the balls upward flight.

I guess I was wrong about the NCAA rules, didn't know they were different.

Last edited by BLydic; Thu Oct 27, 2011 at 12:10am. Reason: Read Rut's post after submitting mine
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 27, 2011, 12:13am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLydic View Post
Both rule sets support the officials decision. It's not basket interference because of the ball location and it's not goaltending because of the balls upward flight.
Actually in NCAA this would be GT if the ball is completely above the rim when touched. I forgot to mention it in my first post.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 27, 2011, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Actually in NCAA this would be GT if the ball is completely above the rim when touched. I forgot to mention it in my first post.

Peace
For my clarification, a ball on an upward flight and outside the imaginary cylinder, but completely above the rim when touched is GT?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 27, 2011, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLydic View Post
For my clarification, a ball on an upward flight and outside the imaginary cylinder, but completely above the rim when touched is GT?

Only if it had already touched the backboard....no otherwise.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 27, 2011, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 307
Ah, I see said the blind man. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 27, 2011, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Only if it had already touched the backboard....no otherwise.
And to further clarify, only in NCAA-M. Play on for NFHS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1