The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   New one for me (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/82793-new-one-me.html)

Toren Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:55pm

New one for me
 
NFHS please, no NCAA

A1 is shooting a lay-up and the ball hits the backboard and the ball remains in its upward flight outside the cylinder. B1 blocks the ball. The official rules a legal play, is the official correct?

If not correct, please site ruling.

Even though I'm certified, I'm attending the first year class as a refresher and this play came up. I thought this would be useful for other newer officials.

JRutledge Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:04am

Well it might be important to know that the rule is different at the NF and NCAA, because coaches will think the NCAA rule applies. ;)

This is a legal play. Look in Rule 9 where GT is located (sorry do not have my rulebook with me right now).

You only have GT when these things take place.
  1. Ball must be on its downward trajectory
  2. Ball must be completely above the rim
  3. Ball must have a chance to go in
  4. The ball must be touched on a try

Peace

BLydic Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:08am

Both rule sets support the officials decision. It's not basket interference because of the ball location and it's not goaltending because of the balls upward flight.

I guess I was wrong about the NCAA rules, didn't know they were different.

JRutledge Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLydic (Post 796126)
Both rule sets support the officials decision. It's not basket interference because of the ball location and it's not goaltending because of the balls upward flight.

Actually in NCAA this would be GT if the ball is completely above the rim when touched. I forgot to mention it in my first post.

Peace

APG Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 796125)
Well it might be important to know that the rule is different at the NF and NCAA, because coaches will think the NCAA rule applies. ;)


Peace

Heck, they probably think it's the NBA rule where touching the ball after it's hit the backboard with a chance to go in is goaltending period. The only time it wouldn't be goaltending would be if the ball was on its downward flight below the rim.

As far as NF goes, the ball off the backboard changes nothing. The ball has to be on its downward flight with a chance to score.

BillyMac Thu Oct 27, 2011 06:22am

From The Files Of The Mythbusters ...
 
The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

BillyMac Thu Oct 27, 2011 06:25am

Fifth Element ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 796125)
You only have GT when these things take place.
  1. Ball must be on its downward trajectory
  2. Ball must be completely above the rim
  3. Ball must have a chance to go in
  4. The ball must be touched on a try

Also: Outside the cylinder? Otherwise a violation would be basket interference, not goaltending?

BLydic Thu Oct 27, 2011 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 796127)
Actually in NCAA this would be GT if the ball is completely above the rim when touched. I forgot to mention it in my first post.

Peace

For my clarification, a ball on an upward flight and outside the imaginary cylinder, but completely above the rim when touched is GT?

Camron Rust Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLydic (Post 796146)
For my clarification, a ball on an upward flight and outside the imaginary cylinder, but completely above the rim when touched is GT?


Only if it had already touched the backboard....no otherwise.

BLydic Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:39pm

Ah, I see said the blind man. Thanks!

rockchalk jhawk Thu Oct 27, 2011 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 796171)
Only if it had already touched the backboard....no otherwise.

And to further clarify, only in NCAA-M. Play on for NFHS.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1