The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 13, 2011, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Jay R; If your question implies that Team A was passing the ball from their backcourt and A3 jumps from the frontcourt catches the pass and then lands in Team A's backcourt - a backcourt violation has occurred. A3 has front court status when he jumped; when he touches the ball it is deemed to have achieved frontcourt status. When he lands in the backcourt the violation has occurred. The three conditions for a backcourt violation have occurred, Team A control of the ball, Team A last to touch in the frontcourt, Team A first to touch in the backcourt.

Slightly different scenario, if A3 intercepted an opponent's pass he could jump from the frontcourt gain control while airborne and legally land in the backcourt. FIBA made this rule change (or exception if you will) in 2008.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 13, 2011, 11:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
What if A3 is catching a throw in pass that originated in the BC or division line? FIBA rules fascinate me.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 14, 2011, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by ref3309 View Post
Jay R; If your question implies that Team A was passing the ball from their backcourt and A3 jumps from the frontcourt catches the pass and then lands in Team A's backcourt - a backcourt violation has occurred. A3 has front court status when he jumped; when he touches the ball it is deemed to have achieved frontcourt status. When he lands in the backcourt the violation has occurred. The three conditions for a backcourt violation have occurred, Team A control of the ball, Team A last to touch in the frontcourt, Team A first to touch in the backcourt.
Wrong. The front court status of a player is irrelevant when judging whether the ball has attained front court status. There's no "Ball returned in the backcourt" violation if the ball never had frontcourt status. In your situation the ball is not in the frontcourt when A3 touches it.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 15, 2011, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
eg-Italy,
I'll respectfully disagree. The frontcourt status of a player catching a pass from his teammate while airborne and then landing in the backcourt is a violation. As evidence I offer these plays from the 2011 CABO interpretations manual (all have been reviewed and approved by FIBA) as well as from the 2010 FIBA interpretations manual

In Team A’s backcourt, A1 makes a throw-in pass to A3 who leaps from Team A’s frontcourt, catches the ball and then lands in Team A’s backcourt. Has A3committed a violation for illegally returning the ball to the backcourt?
Yes. A3 does not establish a new control for Team A which was already in control of the ball.
© Copyright Canadian Association of Basketball Officials, April 2011

Example 3:
Thrower-in A4 in his frontcourt attempts a pass to A3. A3 jumps from his backcourt, catches the ball while airborne and lands
(a) With both feet in his backcourt.
(b) Straddling the centre line.
(c) Straddling the centre line and then dribbles or passes the ball to his backcourt.
Interpretation:
Team A violation. Thrower-in A4 has established the team A control of the ball in the frontcourt before A3 caught the ball while airborne and landed in his backcourt. In all cases A3 has illegally returned the ball to the backcourt.
FIBA Official Interpretations 2010/LK
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 15, 2011, 07:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
eg-italy,

ref3309 is right, that play is in the 2010 FIBA Interpretations and it is a backcourt violation.

Which brings me back to my original point. I don't see the consistency. When you jump with both feet and catch the ball, it's a violation. If you have one foot on the floor, it's legal. American rule sets are more consistent.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 16, 2011, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay R View Post
eg-italy,

ref3309 is right, that play is in the 2010 FIBA Interpretations and it is a backcourt violation.

Which brings me back to my original point. I don't see the consistency. When you jump with both feet and catch the ball, it's a violation. If you have one foot on the floor, it's legal. American rule sets are more consistent.
I agree with you heartfully.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 16, 2011, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by ref3309 View Post
eg-Italy,
I'll respectfully disagree. The frontcourt status of a player catching a pass from his teammate while airborne and then landing in the backcourt is a violation. As evidence I offer these plays from the 2011 CABO interpretations manual (all have been reviewed and approved by FIBA) as well as from the 2010 FIBA interpretations manual

In Team A’s backcourt, A1 makes a throw-in pass to A3 who leaps from Team A’s frontcourt, catches the ball and then lands in Team A’s backcourt. Has A3committed a violation for illegally returning the ball to the backcourt?
Yes. A3 does not establish a new control for Team A which was already in control of the ball.
© Copyright Canadian Association of Basketball Officials, April 2011

Example 3:
Thrower-in A4 in his frontcourt attempts a pass to A3. A3 jumps from his backcourt, catches the ball while airborne and lands
(a) With both feet in his backcourt.
(b) Straddling the centre line.
(c) Straddling the centre line and then dribbles or passes the ball to his backcourt.
Interpretation:
Team A violation. Thrower-in A4 has established the team A control of the ball in the frontcourt before A3 caught the ball while airborne and landed in his backcourt. In all cases A3 has illegally returned the ball to the backcourt.
FIBA Official Interpretations 2010/LK
It seems that FIBA is disagreeing with itself. How can the ball return to the backcourt without ever having been in the frontcourt?

Example 3 you're citing has nothing to do with this case, as the ball already has frontcourt status when it's in the hands of A4.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For FIBA officials (here we go again) Jay R Basketball 16 Tue Aug 24, 2010 08:17pm
Question for my fellow FIBA officials Jay R Basketball 22 Thu Nov 19, 2009 02:09pm
FIBA front and backcourt status, and the over and back rule JugglingReferee Basketball 5 Mon Jan 19, 2009 09:53pm
FIBA Officials eyad mohamad Basketball 17 Mon Sep 11, 2006 02:59pm
Question for FIBA officials Jimgolf Basketball 11 Mon Sep 04, 2006 03:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1