The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 08, 2003, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 737
While everyone is discussing whether or not McNamara had legal guarding position in the bang-banger in the first half, I was astounded that nobody on TV or in this forum has discussed the one in the 2nd half. It occurred about 2 minutes in, Kansas had a 2-on-1, and it looked like Kueth Duany had grown roots he was set so long, he's run over by Kirk Hinrich, and a block is called. If there was a missed call in the game, I thought this was it, but I must have REALLY missed something if it hasn't even been mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 08, 2003, 11:13am
CK CK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 87
IMHO I don't think you missed anything. I know the play you are talking about. I was telling my wife, that seemed to me a clear PC foul, but the big dawgs saw it as a block! I totally agree with you. I like your analogy, "grown roots", he sure did.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 08, 2003, 11:49am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by TriggerMN
While everyone is discussing whether or not McNamara had legal guarding position in the bang-banger in the first half, I was astounded that nobody on TV or in this forum has discussed the one in the 2nd half. It occurred about 2 minutes in, Kansas had a 2-on-1, and it looked like Kueth Duany had grown roots he was set so long, he's run over by Kirk Hinrich, and a block is called. If there was a missed call in the game, I thought this was it, but I must have REALLY missed something if it hasn't even been mentioned.
TriggerMN,
At 17:36 of the second, I assumed that Warrick flopped a little as Hinrich, trying to avoid contact, passed off and they both went down.
Also, Lead was opposite and probably did have a look that he wanted to take to the bank.
And, don't forget, the Center saw the play, also.

The next play down (17:08), Duany was called for the block.

I think the two plays were related.

mick

[Edited by mick on Apr 8th, 2003 at 11:57 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2003, 01:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,441
Sorry, but...

Yeah, you missed the whole discussion on this play. It appears here: http://www.officialforum.com/showthr...7&pagenumber=3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1