![]() |
|
|||
one more try at this
Quote:
Number 1 in the original post in this thread: There is no 3 second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts. The reason there is no count here is because team control ended when "the ball is in flight," or, in other words, when it was released. Quote:
coach yells, "That's okay A1. A2, you dummy, shoot the ball!"* This is the condensed version of this situation. The long version includes descriptions of facial expressions and the shouts of helpful fans.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
hand is part of the ball?
11. Striking the ball handler or shooter on his/her hand, while it holding the ball, is not a foul- no matter how noisy or how much it hurts!
Sorry to be such a rookie here, but is this always true? Maybe I am letting baseball myths get in the way("the hand is NOT part of the bat"), but if a player slaps your hand while shooting, its not a foul? Where does your hand end? And this applies while dribbling, too? |
|
|||
Re: hand is part of the ball?
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
View it the way you want to, I am not calling it while a player is attempting a shot. Whether it is the secondary player, or the player with the ball that is in jeapordy to have a 3 second violation, I am giving them a chance to complete their move. That is the way I have always interpreted it. [QUOTE]Originally posted by Camron Rust Why does the dribble end if they turn their hand over? The dribble ends if they catch the ball. That may occur when the hand is turned over but it doesn't necessarily have to. [QUOTE] If the ball comes to rest in their hand, you have a carry or double dribble if it is in that position. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Re: one more try at this
Quote:
|
|
|||
Has anyone mentioned...
Dual control of the ball by A1 and A2 is not a travel unless one of them actually travels (???) or how about, sliding with a loose ball is not a travel, and, if on his/her back, sitting up after the fact, is also not a travel...
__________________
Reffing...the third phase of childhood. |
|
|||
I got this tidbit from Dick Cartmel,
he has officiated D1 for a number of years. He also got to work the NCAA championship game last year. This is what he had to say about 3 seconds in the key: If a player with the ball is making a move to the basket you suspend the count until the player ends his move,this includes any pump fakes. Once he has passed the ball away or he dribbles away from the lane you get him for 3 sec. I just want to know if you guys are calling the game this way in H.S. or is that just the way they call it in NCAA? Carl |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I always allow pump fakes as part of the consideration given. |
|
|||
![]()
I am with Tony on this one. I think the rule allows this to some extent and should be applied at all levels.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with TH and Jeff -- allow the pump fakes, get the violation if a shot isn't taken (or call 5-seconds). |
|
|||
The only thing I would add to the list is to slip this one in at #4 and drop everybody else down one.
4. There is no 3- second count in the front court while the ball is in the back court. I can't tell you how many times I've heard coaches/fans calling for a 3-second call when the ball has just crossed the mid-court line. Very good thread.
__________________
No Brains.....No Headaches!! |
|
|||
Quote:
THis is the way I call it...for the player with the ball. If another player is in the lane for more than three while all the fakes are going on, I will eventually call the 3 on that other player. They are illegally forcing the defense to divide their attention. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|