The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 25, 2000, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Post

quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins:

Okay. It's an error to hand the ball to the "wrong" team. And, it's correctable until the ball is touched inbounds. But, it's not a "Correctable Error" (since it doesn't fall within 2.10 and the time frame for correcting it is different).



Thanks for this explanation; I feel a little obnoxious to keep "arguing" here, but I still have more questions. I'm not disagreeing, but trying to understand.

When you say,"It's correctable until the ball is touched in-bounds" does that apply to other types of mistakes as well, say putting the ball into play at the wrong spot, or suddenly realizing that this player has five fouls or something else? I hope the answer is yes! I have "fixed" (thanks Camron for this helpful word suggestion!) errors after handing the ball but-before-it-was-inbounds several times in my short career, but I always felt guilty thinking I shouldn't.

Is the rule, then, that no ref mistakes are fixable after the next touch in-bounds, except for the Correctable Errors as in 2-10?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1