The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 21, 2003, 09:20am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Marty Rogers
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Quote:
Originally posted by Marty Rogers
If this happens (which is unlikely), too bad.
The horn doesn't make the ball dead.
It does when the clock is properly operated.



The tap is like a try. If it is in the air when the horn sounds, and then it goes in, the basket still counts. Even if B1 touches it (not sure what Dan Ref meant by his remark). Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. summed it up well.
The clock starts as soon as B1 touches the ball on the throw-in, which means we are now eating into the .3 seconds. If .4 seconds elapse between B1's touch & A1's tap the basket cannot be good. This has nothing to do with whether or not the clock is started properly. Seems pretty obvious, no?
I think the confusion in the above is whether B1 touched before, or after, A1.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1