Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by Marty Rogers 
 
	If this happens (which is unlikely), too bad.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by Hawks Coach What if B1 went up to block and pulled his hand down at the horn sound?  You know that time didn't expire, but B played to the horn and stopped.  Are you now penalizing them if the bucket counts?
 
 Just trying to make it interesting
   |  The horn doesn't make the ball dead.
 | 
	
 It does when the clock is properly operated.   
Rule 2 Officials and Their Duties
SECTION 12 TIMERS' DUTIES
ART. 7 . . . Indicate by signal the expiration of playing time in each quarter or extra period. This signal terminates player activity. If a supplementary red light is used, the timers' signal is the official expiration of playing time.
A horn for a shot clock does not terminate player activity - play to the whistle.  an end of period horn does terminate player activity.  This is back to my favorite old discussion about an inadvertent end of period horn - is it the same as an inadvertent whistle?  I say yes, many others say no.