The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 16, 2003, 09:15pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Had this play last night.
Packed, loud gym, first place on the line, final game of the regular season.
I'm L.
A1 driving toward the basket on a fast break.
B1 whacks A1 across the mid-section.
C whistles the foul just before A1 crosses the FT line.
A1 takes two more dribble, jumps, and slams it home.
I heard the whistle.

Call?

Question: Was A1 dribbling when he was fouled by B1? If A1 was dribbling then he was not fouled in the act of shooting.

BUT, if A1 was not dribbling when B1 fouled him, then the official has to decide if A1 was in the act of shooting.

The key to this play is whether A1 was in the act of shooting or was dribbling when he was fouled by B1.

That question is not answered in the original posting.

For the sake of discussion, lets assume that A1 was dribbling toward the basket and prior to being fouled by B1, A1 stopped his dribble by grabbing the ball with both hands and both of his feet were off the floor. What can A1 do with his feet from the point of his stopping his dribble? The rules (NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, and FIBA) allow a player who stops his dribble or catches a pass with both of his feet off the floor to do the following:

a) Land simultaneously on both feet. Either foot can be A1's become his pivot foot.

b) Land on one foot, jump off it, and then land simultaneously on both feet. A1 cannot not have a pivot foot.

c) Land on one foot (his pivot foot), jump off it, land on his other foot (without touching the floor with his pivot foot), jump off it. A1 must now release the ball for a pass or a shoot before returning to the floor.

The rules references for the above is:

NFHS: R4-S43-A1, A2, A3, A4, and A5

NCAA: R4-S65-A1, A2, A3, A4, and A5

FIBA: R7-A38

If my assumption is correct about when A1 stopped his dribble, then A1 by rule is allowed to do what is described in (c) above. This means that A1 started the act of shooting when he stopped his dribble. And the continous motion rule allows him to finish his act of shooting.

See: NFHS R4-S12-A2, NCAA R4-S12-A1, or FIBA R6-A28.1.6.1 and A28.1.6.2.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1