The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2000, 08:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
Post

The real confusion for this play comes with
2 rules and the penalty 7-6 art 3 and 9-2 art 11 clearly state that a player may cross
over the OOB line after release of the throw in pass, but in the penalty section of 9-2
#3 if an opponent reaches thru the boundry line plane and touches or dislodges the ball
a tech will be charged to the offender. No warning is reqired. But after the release is there still a boundry line plane. I'm one of those who think that after the release there is no more plane and since the T is assessed to the player instead of the team(as with other boundry line warning or infractions) I think that this penalty is used for the touching or dislogding of the ball while in control of the inbounder......You are right though a casebook reference or editorial change would help clarify this situation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1