The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2003, 08:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
It looked like the ball was out of the shooter's hands before he banged into the defender,but the ball hadn't gone through or missed.Isn't this a charge instead of a player control foul-and you shoot 1/1 at the other end? Anybody familiar with what the correct rule is now in NCAA?
JR, I didn't see the play in question, so I have no idea if the ball was released or not. But by rule, if the ball is released on a try (a pass would be different) before the contact, then the basket counts if it goes in the basket; regardless of whether the foul is on the shooter or the defender. No team control during a try, so no team control foul. So if it's on the shooter and the offensive team is over the limit, the defender would indeed get to shoot the bonus.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1