The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 31, 2003, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 10
Do we always have to give a warning before a technical foul for delay of game?

Team A is out of timeouts and is down by 4 points in the closing seconds of the game. During a dead ball, I hear Coach A telling his players to bat the ball away after a made basket -- they did not have a warning yet for delay.

What's the call if they follow the coaches orders? The coach is manipulating the rules in order to stop the clock without a timeout. Fortunately, Team A never made a basket so we didn't have to do anything. I was inclined to ignore the bat and just let the clock run, but my partner said he would have given the warning. I seem to vaguely remember thinking that we could actually issue a technical foul if we had wanted... again, IF Team A had scored and carried out the plan.

What do you think?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1