| 
			
			Do we always have to give a warning before a technical foul for delay of game?
 Team A is out of timeouts and is down by 4 points in the closing seconds of the game.  During a dead ball, I hear Coach A telling his players to bat the ball away after a made basket -- they did not have a warning yet for delay.
 
 What's the call if they follow the coaches orders?  The coach is manipulating the rules in order to stop the clock without a timeout.  Fortunately, Team A never made a basket so we didn't have to do anything.  I was inclined to ignore the bat and just let the clock run, but my partner said he would have given the warning.  I seem to vaguely remember thinking that we could actually issue a technical foul if we had wanted... again, IF Team A had scored and carried out the plan.
 
 What do you think?
 |