The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 30, 2003, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Re: additional clarification

Quote:
Originally posted by williebfree
Quote:
Originally posted by firedoc
Also remember that ANY part of the boundary line is out of bounds.
IF A2 catches the ball as s/he is heading OOB a throw-in violation occurs if:
a.) the foot is located on (straddling in and out of bounds, or
b.) A2 has not, prior to the catch, established OOB status (catches ball while airborne jumping from the playing court).

Also note:
A2's foot (feet) must be completely OOB and remain there until A2 releases the ball onto the court, or passes to another legally OOB teammate. Contact with OOB line is legal, contact with the court prior to release is a violation. As indicated earlier, the ball must be released onto the court within the 5 seconds; regardless of all OOB ballhandling.

[Edited by williebfree on Jan 30th, 2003 at 03:57 PM]
Willie: Great concise clarification. Maybe you should write for the FED

One more tangent. We have established that legally OOB teammate1 may pass to legally OOB teammate2 when there are no spot restrictions. The question is can this pass be a bounce pass?? (touching and remaining OOB) Does defender 1 have the right to intercept this pass (while remaining IB) regardless if it is a bounce pass or not???

Obviously a bounce pass touching IB then caught by OOB teammate is OOB.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1