The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 08:42pm
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
What about the basket?

Technically he was still an airborne shooter...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 08:44pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsl View Post
Technically he was still an airborne shooter...
And that means what?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 08:57pm
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
It seems you could call this a player control foul and take the basket away. But now I have to go read the rules- I assume you could not do both (call a technical and take the basket away).

If an airborne shooter commits a common foul the basket does not count. But if they commit a technical, the basket does count?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 09:03pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
All I have to say is........

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsl View Post
It seems you could call this a player control foul and take the basket away. But now I have to go read the rules- I assume you could not do both (call a technical and take the basket away).

If an airborne shooter commits a common foul the basket does not count. But if they commit a technical, the basket does count?
SmileyCentral.com NO!!!!

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsl View Post
It seems you could call this a player control foul and take the basket away. But now I have to go read the rules- I assume you could not do both (call a technical and take the basket away).

If an airborne shooter commits a common foul the basket does not count. But if they commit a technical, the basket does count?
It is possible to commit both a personal foul AND a technical foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 11:38pm
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
So count the basket or not?

On the floor, I would have counted the basket and called a technical foul. On my couch at home, I must admit I have always been confused about foul categories, even though the topic appears here frequently. I am not sure if there is such a thing as a "player control technical". If there is, we should take away the basket on this play.

The rules I looked at are below. I am still not sure of the answer.

4.1.1 An airborne shooter is a player who has released the ball on a try
for a goal or has tapped the ball and has not returned to the floor.

4.19.1
A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with
an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing
normal defensive and offensive movements. A personal foul also includes contact
by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead.

4.19.2
A common foul is a personal foul which is neither flagrant nor
intentional nor committed against a player trying or tapping for a field goal nor a
part of a double, simultaneous or multiple foul

4.19.5c
A technical foul is:
c. An intentional or flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead, except a foul
by an airborne shooter.

4.19.6
A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while
he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter.

5.1.2
Whether the clock is running or stopped has no influence on the
counting of a goal. If a player-control foul occurs before or after a goal, the goal
is canceled.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 11:47pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
If you decide to call a player control foul, then the basket wouldn't count. If you decide to call a technical foul, then the basket counts and you'll administer the technical foul. Also, there's no such thing as a "player control technical."
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2011, 07:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsl View Post
I am not sure if there is such a thing as a "player control technical".
You're not sure!? You cited the rules.

A PC foul is a common foul (4-19-6). A common foul is a personal foul (4-19-2).

So, it can't be a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2011, 08:32am
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
OK, the list in 4.19.5 prevents a foul from being both personal and technical. I think I see this, but I wish it were explicitly stated.

If a foul cannot be both personal and technical, I think I finally get this (after four years of officiating).

If this is the case, we cannot a call a technical in the OP unless we assume he hung on the rim long enough that the ball was dead, even though he had not returned to the ground as per 4.1.1.

Sorry to turn an interesting video post into into a newbie question, but I never have really got this. Since he never returns to the ground, this got me thinking.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 28, 2011, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsl View Post
It seems you could call this a player control foul and take the basket away. But now I have to go read the rules- I assume you could not do both (call a technical and take the basket away).

If an airborne shooter commits a common foul the basket does not count. But if they commit a technical, the basket does count?

T'em up, count the bucket.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whaddya got? fullor30 Basketball 8 Thu Feb 26, 2009 07:04pm
Whaddya got? WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 35 Tue Jan 15, 2008 01:40am
Whaddya do? WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 8 Mon Jan 23, 2006 04:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1