The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 24, 2000, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Brian Watson:
With B2 you have the whole issue of an opponent putting the ball into the wrong basket. I think we established this can not be considered a try, so the bucket from B2 would be 2 no matter where his last position is. B2 is a little sticky and leads me to the first of some better questions.

One, B2 goes to block the three by A2 and gets a little piece of it. Do we still count this as a three? If we go by the assumption that an opposing player cannot make a legal try or tip at the opponents basket, shouldn’t this be only a two?

Two, what if A2 is fouled as the ball is going off his head. This clearly is not a tap or try, so what would the call be? Do you count the hoop and give him one, or waive it off and resume play after the personal.



Not to worry: If B partially blocks the shot, it is STILL a shot by A and counts 3 points if it originated behind the arc. Different, though, if it was A's teammate that deflected the ball from within the arc--2 points.

If A2 is fouled after the ball bounces off his head and before the ball goes through the hoop, the ball becomes immediately dead and does not score points. Report the foul, and proceed accordingly.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1