Thread: Good One
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 24, 2000, 02:55pm
Brian Watson Brian Watson is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,051
Post

A2’s last position on the court is inside the arc, and presumably so is B2, the bucket is a 2. With B2 you have the whole issue of an opponent putting the ball into the wrong basket. I think we established this can not be considered a try, so the bucket from B2 would be 2 no matter where his last position is.

As with anything if A2s’ touch is before, give him the bucket, after the horn and it is a dead ball. B2 is a little sticky and leads me to the first of some better questions.

One, B2 goes to block the three by A2 and gets a little piece of it. Do we still count this as a three? If we go by the assumption that an opposing player cannot make a legal try or tip at the opponents basket, shouldn’t this be only a two? I know I would get run off the court if I ruled that way, but technically should it not be a two? That is why on the horn example, I think if B2 touches the ball before the horn, it is a dead ball (no try or tap) when the horn goes off, but I am not going to make that call.

Two, what if A2 is fouled as the ball is going off his head. This clearly is not a tap or try, so what would the call be? Do you count the hoop and give him one, or waive it off and resume play after the personal.
Reply With Quote