The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 02, 2003, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Trail may have seen a shot released after the horn, which presents the interesting possibility that the player may have been fouled in the act but the shot would not have counted. Once the player commences his shooting motion, you can have a shooting foul. If the foul on the shooter occurred before the buzzer and the shot was released after the buzzer, the shot does not count but the shooter still gets two FTs. And the lane would be cleared.

IMO, trail should not have had an opinion on this play because he doesn't know when the foul that lead is calling occurred with respect to the horn. All he knows is when the contact he saw or the shot occurred. That is not relevant.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1