The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Dec 31, 2002, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member

Some of you may remember that I asked this forum's opinion about whether I should move up ASAP or wait a while. (I am in my 2nd year) The consensus was to go for it.

Well, Thursday is the big day. I am getting a formal evaluation at a Boys Varsity game. If I pass, I will be an A official and will be permitted to ref Varsity on a regular basis (playoffs etc...) Right now, I do the odd high school game, 6 or 7 altogether.

I am confident, but not overconfident. I think I have a good chance. I imagine I will a bit more nervous than normal, so I am going to remind myself to slow down a bit when reporting fouls and hopefully look like I know what I am doing. Some fellow officials have mentionned to make sure that I stop completely before reporting a foul, to not rush my out of bounds signals etc..., to stay with my calls a bit longer, to shine my shoes. Any other suggestions?

Thanks, Jay
Old Tue Dec 31, 2002, 03:31pm
In Memoriam

Thumbs up

Jay,just stay within yourself and don't look for a reason to blow the whistle.Get the OOB's right and call the obvious violations and fouls.Do that,and you won't have any problems.

Good luck(but I don't really think that you need any luck).

Old Tue Dec 31, 2002, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
My advice would be: don't let the observation get inside your head. Officiate your usual game. Don't think about the observer -- or you will forget to officiate.

Chuck
Old Tue Dec 31, 2002, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member