The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 05:24pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Lakers Game..What is Da Call??

In Today's Lakers game at the 2:20 mark of Q4...Kobe in backcourt dribbling the ball up...makes it to just before the division line and the ball is tapped away by Chris Paul. Kobe and Paul slide and dive on floor going after loose ball. Kobe gets posession but slides out of bounds on end line.

What do you have?

A) Backcourt Violation

B) 8 second violation

C) The tap causes a reset of 8 second count..so no violation

d) Just an OOB call and ball goes to Hornets.


By the way, announcers said officials ruled "D".

Your Thoughts???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 05:27pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
The call should have been an 8 second violation. The ball never achieved frontcourt status. Surprised Greg Willard didn't have this as he was in great position to see the status of the ball as the slot official.

If they would have ruled it correctly, they would have retroactively put the correct amount of time on the clock (I forget if the OOB call was made at 16 on the clock or not) and New Orleans would have inbounded the ball at halfcourt.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Sun Apr 17, 2011 at 05:39pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 05:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
The call should have been an 8 second violation. The ball never achieved frontcourt status. Surprised Greg Wilard didn't have this as he was in great position to see the status of the ball as the slot official.

If they would have ruled it correctly, they would have retroactively put the correct amount of time on the clock and New Orleans would have inbounded the ball at halfcourt.
Was Chris Paul standing in the Laker's FC when he tapped it?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 05:30pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Was Chris Paul standing in the Laker's FC when he tapped it?
Doesn't matter...a ball not in player control is not considered in the frontcourt unless it breaks the plane of the halfcourt line per NBA rules. The ball never did break the plane in this case.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 05:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Hmm. Ok. My next question, then, is doesn't it become a loose ball upon Paul's tip? Or does that not matter WRT the 8 second violation?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 05:48pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Hmm. Ok. My next question, then, is doesn't it become a loose ball upon Paul's tip? Or does that not matter WRT the 8 second violation?
The ball is loose but the count still continues. The rule says a team in possession of the ball can not have the ball in the backcourt for 8 seconds. Team possession is established when a team is holding, dribbling or passing the ball and doesn't end until there's a field goal attempt that hits the rim or the other team gains possession of the ball.

You're thinking about the NBA definition of team control which is established when a team is holding, dribbling or passing the ball, but ends when there's a field goal attempt or the defense deflects the ball.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Tue Apr 10, 2012 at 01:40am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 05:47pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Was Chris Paul standing in the Laker's FC when he tapped it?
Just to answer your question - no.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 05:50pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Just to answer your question - no.
Like I mentioned earlier, it wouldn't have mattered if he was or not. When Chris Paul knocked the ball away, player control was lost thus the ball would have to break the plane of the midcourt line to be considered in the frontcourt. This is different than the NFHS and NCAA rule.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 07:18pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Like I mentioned earlier, it wouldn't have mattered if he was or not. When Chris Paul knocked the ball away, player control was lost thus the ball would have to break the plane of the midcourt line to be considered in the frontcourt. This is different than the NFHS and NCAA rule.
Lets Focus on NFHS rule application on this play:

1) Does Paul tipping the ball away from Kobe effect the 10 second count?

2) If Paul would have tipped it away while in frontcourt and Kobe recovered in backcourt..any problem?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 05:27pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Seems pretty cut and dried "D" to me.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
the end of the Lakers/W's game lpbreeze Basketball 40 Wed Mar 26, 2008 10:39pm
backcourt- kobe, lakers game lpbreeze Basketball 5 Thu Feb 07, 2008 11:34pm
Wolves v. Lakers Crawford no call BigGref Basketball 17 Tue Jun 01, 2004 09:44pm
Clock/Last Night's Lakers Game rulesmaven Basketball 19 Fri May 14, 2004 05:50pm
Blazers-Lakers Blarge Call rockyroad Basketball 27 Tue Apr 30, 2002 03:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1