The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Referee to the end - UConn v Butler (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/66304-referee-end-uconn-v-butler.html)

Jurassic Referee Wed Apr 06, 2011 08:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 747404)
Reprimanded...? Didn't Burr work the NCAA tournament?

The whole crew from the Rutgers game was removed from doing games for the rest of the Big East's tournament schedule.

Raymond Wed Apr 06, 2011 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 747408)
The whole crew from the Rutgers game was removed from doing games for the rest of the Big East's tournament schedule.

But Burr did get 2 games in the NCAA Tournament.

Higgins received no games but he may not have been receiving any games anyway.

Walton didn't get any NCAA games after working the last couple years. But he did some NIT games.

Adam Wed Apr 06, 2011 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 747424)
But Burr did get 2 games in the NCAA Tournament.

Higgins received no games but he may not have been receiving any games anyway.

Walton didn't get any NCAA games after working the last couple years. But he did some NIT games.

None of which fall under the purview of the Big East leadership. They were "punished" by the Big East for what happened in a Big East game.

Plus, Adams gave a sort of verbal reprimand. Well, more of a finger wag, but still....

GoodwillRef Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 747408)
The whole crew from the Rutgers game was removed from doing games for the rest of the Big East's tournament schedule.

I understand...but that had nothing to do with John Adams.

rulesmaven Wed Apr 06, 2011 01:04pm

I think it was Shows who passed on the travel. If he'd acted reflexively and called it, no gripe. But do you really want to make the Butler kids have to walk back across the floor to take a meaingless inbounds when the other team is already celebrating? Seems kind of cruel.

tref Wed Apr 06, 2011 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rulesmaven (Post 747472)
I think it was Shows who passed on the travel. If he'd acted reflexively and called it, no gripe. But do you really want to make the Butler kids have to walk back across the floor to take a meaingless inbounds when the other team is already celebrating? Seems kind of cruel.

Good point, I guess thats why they dont just let anybody work those games.

Adam Wed Apr 06, 2011 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 747473)
Good point, I guess thats why they dont just let anybody work those games.

Too bad. I could really have used the money.

tref Wed Apr 06, 2011 01:19pm

Ikr

bob jenkins Wed Apr 06, 2011 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 747473)
Good point, I guess thats why they dont just let anybody work those games.

There's some rule in FED, and I think in NCAA, that a game can be shortened if both coaches and the R agree.

The actions of the game indicate that's what happened, even if the clock operator didn't quite get the message.

Adam Wed Apr 06, 2011 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 747482)
There's some rule in FED, and I think in NCAA, that a game can be shortened if both coaches and the R agree.

Like CBS would ever allow that to happen. ;)

BktBallRef Wed Apr 06, 2011 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 747424)
Walton didn't get any NCAA games after working the last couple years. But he did some NIT games.

He also worked a Big Ten tournament game after he left NYC.

BillyMac Wed Apr 06, 2011 05:37pm

When To Call The Violation ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 747149)
It might and it might not. But I do not think anyone is going to go crazy over this not being called either. The game is over and the game was not in question. Maybe if the game was on the line yes, but it was not. I doubt this even makes a memo or a video in any way. If anything it might be said directly to the official at hand, but I doubt a big deal will be made out of it in any way.

When I watched it live, I did give it a few seconds of thought, and figured, "Well. The game's over". Thus, I have no problem with the no-call. Lopsided game. Only a few seconds left.

However. Same lopsided score. How much time has to be left to make this violation call? Five seconds? Seven seconds? Ten seconds? Twelve seconds?

tref Wed Apr 06, 2011 06:24pm

Let's not put a time limit on this... experience will tell us when to blow, just like any other game management decisions we make night to night.

Adam Wed Apr 06, 2011 06:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 747550)
let's not put a time limit on this... Experience will tell us when to blow, just like any other game management decisions we make night to night.

+1 No need to over analyze this; an old dog told me that once.

Judtech Wed Apr 06, 2011 06:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 747326)
About the only thing that should have been called at that point would be an intentional or flagrant foul.

Like say the end of the UCONN/ND game?:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1