The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2002, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
it's all about intent

10-3-6b While a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or cause the ring to vibrate.

I interpret the word intentionally in the last clause of 10-3-6b to apply to both striking the backboard and causing the ring to vibrate. Therefore, if I don't believe the player is intentionally trying to cause the ring to vibrate, I don't call the T.
Of course, I have no doubt that any slap of the backboard, intentional or not, does cause the ring to vibrate, and therefore think that it would be better if the NFHS clarified that the vibrating the ring must be intentional to be a technical foul with a case book play.
Until then, I will continue to read the rule this way.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1