The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 11, 2002, 08:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
If a foul were to be called ...

If a foul were to be called in this situation, B1 fouls A2 while A1 is shooting, A2 bumping A1 while in the air - it would just be a common foul of B1 fouling A2. So, you have a good hoop by A1 and the ball goes to team A for a throw-in at the nearest spot. If team A were in the bonus situation, free throws would be awarded to A2.

I think you may have been asking if A1 could go to the line in this situation if a foul were called - the answer is no. B1 fouled A2, not A1 - no matter that A2 crashed into A1 while A1 was in the act of shooting. I know you asked for the NCAA interpretation. I believe it is not different than the NFHS ruling in this case.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1