The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Part II Test Question #39 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6522-part-ii-test-question-39-a.html)

DownTownTonyBrown Tue Dec 10, 2002 03:17pm

#39. A free throw by A1 ends when the ball is in flight and A2 backs straight out of his/her marked lane space.

For me this seemed obviously True. However I overheard some veteran comments about lane spaces being as deep as the crap going on in the integrity thread discussion.... well as deep as the player wanted. And that the aswer should be False.

I still think true is the correct answer. Referencing rules 1-5-2 and 9-1-9 lane spaces are 36 inches deep. If you leave your lane space before the ball hits the rim you have violated. If you are on the offensive/shooting team, dead ball, no shot.

What does anyone else think?

[Edited by DownTownTonyBrown on Dec 10th, 2002 at 03:08 PM]

AK ref SE Tue Dec 10, 2002 03:21pm

I guess my answer would be false! You can back out only 3 feet. you can not back out all the way to the OOB line.
Just my thought!

AK ref SE

JRutledge Tue Dec 10, 2002 03:39pm

True
 
DTTB,

The answer is true. They cannot leave the space until the restrictions end. There is a casebook play that covers this. Or at the very least it used to. I will get back to you on this.

Peace

devdog69 Tue Dec 10, 2002 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by AK ref SE
I guess my answer would be false! You can back out only 3 feet. you can not back out all the way to the OOB line.
Just my thought!

AK ref SE

from what you said, I think you mean true, right..

AK ref SE Tue Dec 10, 2002 05:11pm

OOOPPPSSSS-
Yes that is correct...TRUE...Read it right....reversed it in my mind....

AK ref SE

DownTownTonyBrown Tue Dec 10, 2002 05:38pm

Test method
 
Those NFHS test have a way of muddling a man's mind.

AK ref SE Tue Dec 10, 2002 05:44pm

DownTownTonyBrown-

What Test? I forgot! True, No False...I mean! Yes, No, Well Maybe

AK ref SE

ChuckElias Tue Dec 10, 2002 09:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by AK ref SE
What Test? I forgot! True, No False...I mean! Yes, No, Well Maybe
What. . . is your favorite color?

Green, no wait, blue!!! AAAAAaaaaaaauuuuuuuuggghhhhh!

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by AK ref SE
I guess my answer would be false!
So,if you answered "True",then that would be false-and if you answered "False",that would then be true?

I think I got it now!

BktBallRef Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:44pm

We had discussion about this one too. If he backs OUT of the lane space, he has violated.

How about #99?

It is a violation if, in A's FC, A1 passes to A2 but A2 fumbles the ball into A's BC where it remains untouched for 10 seconds.

Ture or False?

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
We had discussion about this one too. If he backs OUT of the lane space, he has violated.

How about #99?

It is a violation if, in A's FC, A1 passes to A2 but A2 fumbles the ball into A's BC where it remains untouched for 10 seconds.

Ture or False?

True-about every 10 years they put that mutha on.

BktBallRef Wed Dec 11, 2002 01:04am

So far, I've only found two people who answered True, myself and my crew chief. Everyone else here seems to have missed it.

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 11, 2002 03:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
So far, I've only found two people who answered True, myself and my crew chief. Everyone else here seems to have missed it.
A better question might be "what visual count should you start when the ball goes into Team A's backcourt off of a Team A player after Team A had possession in their frontcourt?".That might make a few heads explode.

Btw,anyone that tells me that they've started a visual 10 second count in this circumstance is lying like a rug!:D

Nevadaref Wed Dec 11, 2002 07:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
#39. A free throw by A1 ends when the ball is in flight and A2 backs straight out of his/her marked lane space.
Notice that that question tells you that the player left the marked lane space. It says he backed OUT of it. So it is a violation, the ball is immediately dead, and since a free throw ends when the ball becomes dead, A1's free throw has ended.

RecRef Wed Dec 11, 2002 08:05am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by AK ref SE
What Test? I forgot! True, No False...I mean! Yes, No, Well Maybe
What. . . is your favorite color?

Green, no wait, blue!!! AAAAAaaaaaaauuuuuuuuggghhhhh!


Question from a few years back. Can the home team jersy be light blue?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1