The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2011 Tournament Discussion Redux (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/65124-2011-tournament-discussion-redux.html)

cmhjordan23 Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 741746)
7-6
Art. 8. Regardless of where the throw-in spot is located, the throw-in team may cause the ball to go into the back court.
Art. 9. After the throw-in ends, an inbounds player in the front court who is not in control of the ball may cause the ball to go into the back court.

You posted yours while I was typing mine. Guess my question is answered.

APG Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dcso77 (Post 741745)
that was not a back court, there is no team control on a throw in, cuse player was in the air, lands on the mid court line...

You're right but for the wrong reason. Under NCAA rules, there IS team control during a throw-in.

APG Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmhjordan23 (Post 741747)
What i saw was him landing in front court without ever starting team control and stepping on the line. Either way no BC violation. Is there a different rule for college.

Just want to point out that there is team control during a throw-in under NCAA rules

Raymond Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:19pm

Marq/Syra
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cmhjordan23 (Post 741747)
What i saw was him landing in front court without ever starting team control and stepping on the line. Either way no BC violation. Is there a different rule for college.

Why is everyone referring to TC? There is quite certainly TC in NCAA-M on a throw-in. TC is irrelevant to whether or not a backcourt violation should have been called on this play.

BillyMac Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:22pm

Misty Water Colored Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 741729)
Maybe the announcer was an old fogey who remembers back 30+ years when that used to be the operative ruling???

Change of status.

Raymond Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dcso77 (Post 741745)
that was not a back court, there is no team control on a throw in, cuse player was in the air, lands on the mid court line...

There is TC in NCAA-M on a throw-in. But TC is irrelevant on a throw-in b/c the backcourt exception is the same for NFHS as it is for NCAA.

ref83 Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:29pm

If this was NFHS and I think the same for college: On the throw in, the Syracuse player jumped from his front court caught the ball in the air and landed first on his right foot on the division line (which is in the back court). His left foot touched down in the front court. In my opinion this was legal. Although, without dribbling, somehow the Syracuse player’s right foot or pivot foot ended up in the front court. This is when a traveling call should have been made but the official called over and back. The Syracuse player did not commit a back court violation because during the throw in there is exception to the back court rule. This is a great play for discussion!

Raymond Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:30pm

Sure is: http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post741760

stiffler3492 Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:45pm

Just to pile on...I heard Will Perdue calling the North Carolina game on radio today. First he accused an official who, by the radio description, sold a blocking foul call of making it about himself. Then when there was a close OOB call, said he thought they could look at the monitor to determine who hit it out of bounds.

He was quickly corrected.

APG Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 741768)
Just to pile on...I heard Will Perdue calling the North Carolina game on radio today. First he accused an official who, by the radio description, sold a blocking foul call of making it about himself. Then when there was a close OOB call, said he thought they could look at the monitor to determine who hit it out of bounds.

He was quickly corrected.

Maybe he also works NBA games where you could do this under 2 in the fourth and all of OT. Or maybe he's just like 99 percent of announcers and didn't know the rule haha

stiffler3492 Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 741771)
Maybe he also works NBA games where you could do this under 2 in the fourth and all of OT. Or maybe he's just like 99 percent of announcers and didn't know the rule haha

Probably both. That's what they get for having non-college guys do college games. Barkley has been brutal in the studio.

dcso77 Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:11pm

Art. 8. After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his/her front
court, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the
playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one
or both feet in the back court. It makes no difference if the first foot down
was in the front court or back court.
Section 4.

based on this looks like they made the wrong call

KingTripleJump Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:13pm

Apparently that official has released a statement stating he did count to 5 seconds.

His problem is that there is video evidence, and it doesn't back up his statement.

Johnny Ringo Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:37pm

Cartmel probably did say five in his head, the problem is hand count was not there yet.

zm1283 Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KingTripleJump (Post 741780)
Apparently that official has released a statement stating he did count to 5 seconds.

His problem is that there is video evidence, and it doesn't back up his statement.

I timed it a couple of times on the stopwatch and it's around 4.8 each time. Pretty darn close if you ask me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1