The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2011 Tournament Discussion Redux (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/65124-2011-tournament-discussion-redux.html)

APG Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 741724)
Gosh these announcers annoy me to no end. They do such a disservice to officiating by spouting off these made-up rules.

What I have to wonder is if they asked John Adams before spouting that one off. I know I've seen him on the networks for controversial plays. I'd have to venture he wasn't approached before they made that misstatement because there was a potential foul at the end of this game and they were confused about it. Contact happened after the lights went off, but it took them a while to figure that out.

cmar Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:28pm

I'd like to get to the bottom of this as well, because i'd never heard of rule until it was called and seth davis (always the voice of reason :rolleyes:) said it, and have seen plenty of times where the timeout was granted. Obviously if that's incorrect and this was the correct ruling, i'd like to know for my own future reference.

justacoach Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATXCoach (Post 741718)

The TNT announcer said after the game it was the right call because you can't call a timeout after four seconds.
In any event, sounds strange to me. Can somebody help me understand?

Maybe the announcer was an old fogey who remembers back 30+ years when that used to be the operative ruling???
Not applicable at all in the modern game.

APG Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmar (Post 741728)
I'd like to get to the bottom of this as well, because i'd never heard of rule until it was called and seth davis (always the voice of reason :rolleyes:) said it, and have seen plenty of times where the timeout was granted. Obviously if that's incorrect and this was the correct ruling, i'd like to know for my own future reference.

Well I posted the pertitent NCAA rule above. You can also download the NCAA rules book and case book online.

fiasco Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:33pm

Seth Freaking Davis...this is the same guy who cried for hours and hours about a so-called travel on an up-and-under move by Georgetown's Jeff Green in an Elite 8 game against North Carolina.

When it was finally explained to him what a travel actually is, Davis had the audacity to go to the slow-mo replay zoomed in on Green's foot to show that he lifted it about a half an inch off the floor, so technically he did travel.

Davis has since recanted his stupid-ness via twitter.

Dolt.

cmar Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 741730)
Well I posted the pertitent NCAA rule above. You can also download the NCAA rules book and case book online.

I didn't know that was available for download, i'll look into that, thanks


...Also on the seth davis thing, that leads me into a rant about announcers. I really wish announcers and gasbags like Davis had to have an understanding of the rules; People listen to these guys and take their word as if they know for a fact what they're saying and it bothers me when they talk about rules and are flat out wrong. Granted i'm biased but officiating is difficult enough to do on it's own with a bunch of armchair critics, most of which have never done it, we don't need these tv hairdo's spouting false information as fact making everything more difficult for everybody. Their job is not a difficult one, it's really inexcusable that they give information on the rules without actually knowing them.

jearef Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:57pm

Syracuse/Marquette backcourt call
 
The officials called a backcourt violation on Syracuse with approximately 30 seconds left. The violation occurred on a throw-in. Looked to me as if the player secured the ball while airborne, and landed with one foot on the division line, i.e., no violation. Anyone else see the play? :confused:

Juulie Downs Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jearef (Post 741737)
The officials called a backcourt violation on Syracuse with approximately 30 seconds left. The violation occurred on a throw-in. Looked to me as if the player secured the ball while airborne, and landed with one foot on the division line, i.e., no violation. Anyone else see the play? :confused:

I saw it, and it took a second, and then I realized it might be the wrong call. I'm sure it's wrong in HS.

But I also remember that college rules handle it slightly differently, and that it changed a year or two or three ago. Help please?

cmhjordan23 Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:01pm

Syracuse/Marquette
 
Anybody see the BC violation on Syracuse at the end. In slow motion, it looked to me like he never had control until his foot was off the line. Real time I would have probably made the same call. Lots of bang bang calls in the tourny. Doing a good job.

Juulie Downs Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:03pm

see the tourney discussion thread. Also, what's the rule about bc/fc on a throw-in?

APG Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:06pm

It was incorrect. College and high school handles backcourt violations the exact same way.

Raymond Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 741739)
I saw it, and it took a second, and then I realized it might be the wrong call. I'm sure it's wrong in HS.

But I also remember that college rules handle it slightly differently, and that it changed a year or two or three ago. Help please?

The rule is no different in college. IMO, it should not have been a BC violation. However I think he may have travelled. I need to see the replay again.

dcso77 Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:08pm

that was not a back court, there is no team control on a throw in, cuse player was in the air, lands on the mid court line...

APG Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 741739)
I saw it, and it took a second, and then I realized it might be the wrong call. I'm sure it's wrong in HS.

But I also remember that college rules handle it slightly differently, and that it changed a year or two or three ago. Help please?

7-6
Art. 8. Regardless of where the throw-in spot is located, the throw-in team may cause the ball to go into the back court.
Art. 9. After the throw-in ends, an inbounds player in the front court who is not in control of the ball may cause the ball to go into the back court.

cmhjordan23 Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jearef (Post 741737)
The officials called a backcourt violation on Syracuse with approximately 30 seconds left. The violation occurred on a throw-in. Looked to me as if the player secured the ball while airborne, and landed with one foot on the division line, i.e., no violation. Anyone else see the play? :confused:

What i saw was him landing in front court without ever starting team control and stepping on the line. Either way no BC violation. Is there a different rule for college.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1