The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2011 Tournament Discussion Redux (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/65124-2011-tournament-discussion-redux.html)

Pantherdreams Sun Mar 20, 2011 07:36am

I'm ok with both calls. That being said I'm not sure what the call is on the 2nd one.

- Its clearly not a shooting foul as the official only gave him two.
- I'm not sure it can be a rebounding foul. Since he ends up with the ball and lands with strong position. If that much contact on a rebound the defensive team ends up with is foul then there is a foul on every rebound from jv boys basketball up.
- I assume it is because his arm is tangled making it difficult (impeding?) Howard from making a clean quick play. The fact is because of the time Howard is needing to make a quick turn or escape when in others he may just stand strong and keep his balance. If he's making a regular rebound and rip for the outlet that much contact may not disadvantage him/his team in this case though . . . I can only assume that the inadvertent holding at this point is the foul. Which if that is the case, is the right call.

Tough break for the Pitt kid who probably felt like there wasn't enough time for anything to happen beyond a tip.

grunewar Sun Mar 20, 2011 07:40am

And let that be a lesson to you all.......
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 741438)
That's why we have the chat room LOL

We had a nice discussion on this last night as it developed. I believe the word "WOW" was used 17 times by various posters!

Good, healthy discussion.

The Adams studio interview directly following the action was excellent IMO.

BktBallRef Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 741480)
He wasn't. Watch the tape: he quickly realized there was going to be a foul called and he just heaved it.

LOL! Even you admit it was a foul by your writing.

Quote:

The foul called was a common foul, not a shooting foul, so even the official realized he wasn't in the act of shooting.
That's because foul was on the rebound. His arm was grabbed and he was pushed as the landed with the ball.

You're wrong. It was a foul. Yes, you're entitled to your opinion but your opinion is wrong.

BktBallRef Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jurassic referee (Post 741529)
right. We don't. You do.

+100.

JugglingReferee Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:40am

Great call. Just like that no-call with Moorehead on defense. Advance those 2 guys!

bob jenkins Sun Mar 20, 2011 08:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chymechowder (Post 741479)
rule questions:

1. A1 throws in from his endline. B1 touches ball after it is released; ball deflects down onto the endline. official whistles, points at endline and whistles A1 for a throw in violation.

setting aside the fact that he missed B1 touching the ball, is that just an ncaa rule? that is, in Fed rules, is there anything wrong with inbounding the ball with a bounce pass that first hits a boundary line?

2. do NCAA rules have a different definition for what constitutes a kick? in Fed, the contact has to be intentional right? seems that there are times when a team A player tries to force a bounce pass into traffic. the ball strikes a team B player's foot and they call it a kick.

of course, I could be missing the intentional leg movement. but it seems there are times when it happens so fast that the team B player doesn't move his leg at all. (doesn't even have time to react, in fact.) just wondering if NCAA doesn't require the intent.

Same rules in both. But, the benefit of the doubt goes to "kick" in the second play.

Jurassic Referee Sun Mar 20, 2011 09:22am

Interesting!

Checking out some sports pages this morning, the exact same talking heads that crapped all over Higgins et al for not officiating to the end in the St. Johns/Rutgers game are currently crapping over the guys in this game for officiating to the end.

Golly gee, why aren't I surprised?

Raymond Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 741480)
...

You can name call all you want, but I stand by my point: there was no advantage gained and the call shouldn't have been made. If the NCAA director thinks there was, fine. We disagree. But I'm not going to support the call just because an official made it and it was supported by the brass. I've had missed calls supported publicly.

...

Considering how quickly John Adams criticized the Big East officials last week without even seeing the play your statement has no merit.

John Adams is far from a "support my officials at any cost" type of guy.

Raymond Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 741536)
- I assume it is because his arm is tangled making it difficult (impeding?) Howard from making a clean quick play. The fact is because of the time Howard is needing to make a quick turn or escape when in others he may just stand strong and keep his balance. If he's making a regular rebound and rip for the outlet that much contact may not disadvantage him/his team in this case though . . . I can only assume that the inadvertent holding at this point is the foul. Which if that is the case, is the right call.
....


Nice euphemisms :rolleyes:

The Pitt player intentionally grabbed Howard's arm the moment Howard grabbed the rebound. I think at that instance the Pitt player had a brain fart and thought his team was still down.

26 Year Gap Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:27am

It would appear that Texas Aggie is a dead tree in a forest full of woodpeckers. I'm going with the woodpeckers on this one. Easily.

Adam Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:51am

Okay, having seen the play, especially the backboard angle, great call.

1.4 is plenty of time to grab, turn and throw if you're not being held.

Dumbest. Foul. Ever.

fullor30 Sun Mar 20, 2011 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 741598)
Okay, having seen the play, especially the backboard angle, great call.

1.4 is plenty of time to grab, turn and throw if you're not being held.

Dumbest. Foul. Ever.

I thought previous Butler one was but this one is the new leader in the clubhouse. Dumbfounded.

KJUmp Sun Mar 20, 2011 12:05pm

Tate didn't go full court, Scott Burrell threw a court length in-bounds pass from underneath the Clemson basket, Tate caught it in the corner and in one motion shot it.
As the headline read in the next day's Hartford Courant..."It's Late, It's Great, It's Tate!!"

fullor30 Sun Mar 20, 2011 12:17pm

all time NCAA buzzers beaters

Top 10 NCAA Final Four Buzzer Beaters of All Time


Jean......thanks for photos of your crew, looks like you folks work well together. That said, too much ball watching.

tomegun Sun Mar 20, 2011 12:25pm

Uh, moderators?

Is it my iPad or is there porn on this thread?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1