The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Mar 17, 2011, 08:02am
Official Forum Member

How to deal with bad refs

First time to the site.

I'm a coach for a rec league and the refs in the league are well known to favor certain players/teams to the point that even the teams being favored admit it after the fact to my players.

I'm not trying to say that it's all the refs because there's quite a few instances where the kids are just caught up in other fouls or try to explain away their mistakes with the refs. I'm talking about clear instances where the following types of things occur

- Kid goes up for layup and the defender comes across his legs and the kid's momentum changed to the point that he almost got hurt - no call with the ref standing in front of it.

- no call on one side of the court and we're called for the same action (granted by a different ref) on the other side (see question below concerning this).

- Kid gets slapped across the arm and when I ask for an explanation of how the ref couldn't call it I'm told "it was all ball and your kid is just soft"

I also am wondering if I'm imagining this or not. Isn't there a rule where the refs don't officiate the same side after halftime? I've noticed that the same ref always positions himself on our offensive side of the ball and it's consistent enough to not be coincidence.

What's interesting to me is that this year we're winning in spite of this situation. I'm just trying to get some feedback and opinions from other people.

Thanks in advance for your advice.
Old Thu Mar 17, 2011, 08:07am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by coach-rec View Post
First time to the site.

I'm a coach for a rec league and the refs in the league are well known to favor certain players/teams to the point that even the teams being favored admit it after the fact to my players.