![]() |
|
|||
Substitute player for free throws
Friday night I broadcast a Kansas High School sub-state semi-final with a bizare ending. Already in overtime, score tied 68-68, home team misses final shot and in scrum for loose ball on floor, H23 fouls V33. I look to clock which reads 0.0, then back to the floor to see an official signal technical foul. Tech is 5th foul on V33 and he goes to bench. Officials gather to discuss situation before going to scorers stand, then bring both coaches together, then V5 enters the game to shoot free throws for V33 who is on their bench. Misses them both. H11 goes to their line and misses first technical shot and makes second for the winning point.
I was unsure of the rule for substitute of player that fouled out and was unable to shoot the free throws for the personal foul by H23. Did opposing Coach get to pick that substitute as if it was an injured player replacement, or did V Coach pick him? Great pick by H Coach, poor choice if V Coach if that was the situation.
__________________
And that's the ball game |
|
|||
The opposing coach under high school rules NEVER selects who the replacement shooter is. In this case, the visiting head coach chose his shooter and the home coach chose his.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Under NBA rules, the opposing head coach selects the replacement shooter from the bench when the situation warrants it.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
I don't have my rulebook/casebook with me, but let's see if I can figure this out without them.
Two important concepts at work here: 1) Fouls (and penalties) are administered in the order in which they occurred. 2) If a player is unable to shoot any foul shots to which they are entitled due to injury or disqualification or whatever), then that player's replacement must shoot the foul shots. So the order of events goes like this: V33 is fouled. V33 receives a technical foul, which V33's 5th foul, causing V33 to be disqualified from further participation in the game. The V coach picks V5 to replace V33, as V33 has been disqualified. H5 shoots, and misses, 2 shots for the common foul. H11 takes the two shots for the technical foul. Misses one, makes second, ballgame. Nowhere in the NFHS rules is there a situation where the opposing coach can make playing decisions for the other team, so I'm not sure where you would get that idea. Now, as an advanced question: If V11 had missed both technical foul shots, do you start overtime with V getting possession due to the technical foul penalty, or do you go to the AP arrow? |
|
|||
Penalties never carry over to the next period or half.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
The opposing coach only selects a shooter when an injury takes place. Because this is a disqualification, the substitute (shooter's coach selects) would shoot the free throws.
|
|
||||
Quote:
2. Have you ever seen an OT started with an AP throw-in?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
The technical foul and the penalty are part of the 4th quarter. You never start an OT with the AP. Start the OT with a jump ball.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Note that had there not been a personal foul and only a technical foul following the expiration of time in the extra period, that foul would be part of the NEXT extra period and the penalty would be enforced to begin it. So if the technical foul shooter were to make either or both of the FTs attempts, the next extra period would still be played in its entirety. The team would not win right at that point. |
|
|||
On point #2, all I can say is D'OH. I knew that... next time I won't try to post while trying to get out the door at work.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Wrong player steps in to take free throws | refnuts | Basketball | 2 | Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:28am |
ineligible player shoots free throws | Loudwhistle | Basketball | 1 | Sat Feb 28, 2009 12:24pm |
Incorrect player shoots free throws | zangief | Basketball | 9 | Sun Sep 19, 2004 12:18am |
wrong player accepting free throws | MOFFICIAL | Basketball | 10 | Wed Feb 19, 2003 04:12pm |
free throws on player control | whistle101 | Basketball | 7 | Thu Jan 18, 2001 11:20pm |