The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 02, 2011, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 306
Badnews beat me to it. If you deem A1's action to be a try, you have nothing. If not, right call on the 3 secs.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 02, 2011, 07:15pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Here We Go Again ...

Some would argue that throwing the ball and hitting the backboard of the team in possession is always considered a try for goal.

9.5 SITUATION A: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an
official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and
(c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official
constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it
strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Mar 02, 2011 at 07:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 02, 2011, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Some would argue that throwing the ball and hitting the backboard of the team in possession is always considered a try for goal.

9.5 SITUATION A: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an
official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and
(c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official
constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it
strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)
Right. And that is what I was thinking about later. However, all three of us agreed while discussing this after the game that this player was not making an attempt to score. In fact, should he have been fouled while trying to get rid of the ball, we would not have awarded him free throws for being in the act of shooting. He was definitely trying to throw the ball toward the corner. The ball just happened to hit the bottom of the backboard, which brings us back to 9.5 and whether team control ended.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2011, 07:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Right. And that is what I was thinking about later. However, all three of us agreed while discussing this after the game that this player was not making an attempt to score. In fact, should he have been fouled while trying to get rid of the ball, we would not have awarded him free throws for being in the act of shooting. He was definitely trying to throw the ball toward the corner. The ball just happened to hit the bottom of the backboard, which brings us back to 9.5 and whether team control ended.
If the ball had gone in the basket instead of hitting the board, would you have allowed the basket? (remember, you said he wasn't trying to score)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2011, 08:28am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
If the ball had gone in the basket instead of hitting the board, would you have allowed the basket? (remember, you said he wasn't trying to score)
And what rule would you have used to disallow the basket?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2011, 08:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
If the ball had gone in the basket instead of hitting the board, would you have allowed the basket? (remember, you said he wasn't trying to score)
Since when do we disallow points when a live ball (excluding throw-in) goes into the basket just because it wasn't a shot attempt?


If A1 jumps and throws a pass and a defender tips it causing it to contact the basket and A1 was fouled before returning to the ground would you call A1 an airborne shooter and award him 2 shots?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2011, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Since when do we disallow points when a live ball (excluding throw-in) goes into the basket just because it wasn't a shot attempt?


If A1 jumps and throws a pass and a defender tips it causing it to contact the basket and A1 was fouled before returning to the ground would you call A1 an airborne shooter and award him 2 shots?
Where did I say the basket should be disallowed?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2011, 09:21am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
Where did I say the basket should be disallowed?
Based on your question to the OP.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2011, 10:07am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
Where did I say the basket should be disallowed?
You didn't say it should, but you questioned whether the OP would as if there was a logical reason for disallowing it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
If the ball had gone in the basket instead of hitting the board, would you have allowed the basket? (remember, you said he wasn't trying to score)
So, I ask again, what rule (or logic) could he have used to disallow the basket?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2011, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
If the ball had gone in the basket instead of hitting the board, would you have allowed the basket? (remember, you said he wasn't trying to score)
Not knowing if asdf has gone to bed for the day, or whatever, I'll hazard a guess that this was just a rhetorical question, or at least one to provoke introspection from the OPer. He never says anything should/would be disallowed.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2011, 11:27am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
Not knowing if asdf has gone to bed for the day, or whatever, I'll hazard a guess that this was just a rhetorical question, or at least one to provoke introspection from the OPer. He never says anything should/would be disallowed.
Which leads me to think one of three things was at play:

1. He sees a logical path from ruling it to be a non-try to disallowing the basket, even if he agrees the rule is clear that it should be allowed; and he had a point to make. If so, I'm wondering what it was.

2. He thinks the OP really would have disallowed the basket.

3. He was just being random.

I'm going with #1.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2011, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
If the ball had gone in the basket instead of hitting the board, would you have allowed the basket? (remember, you said he wasn't trying to score)
If A1's pass (without the foul) somehow made it through the basket, yes it would count. If complicated by the foul and we were sure it was not an attempt then the ball becomes dead and the subsequent basket doesn't count.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unusual Balk Call John L Baseball 44 Fri Jun 16, 2006 07:50pm
A most unusual call... Camron Rust Basketball 4 Wed Mar 17, 2004 09:58pm
Unusual WinterWillie Basketball 10 Mon Mar 01, 2004 09:11am
unusual-continued crew Basketball 21 Thu Aug 08, 2002 07:21pm
An unusual situation ChuckElias Basketball 43 Sun Aug 04, 2002 09:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1