The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 19, 2002, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Many, many officials, including ones here, mistakenly believe that the calling official is to go to the division line after reporting the time out. To do so would often (but not always) be incorrect.

Put simply, the official who will administer the throw-in/FT should, after the timeout is reported by the calling official, go to the spot that it will be administered. The other official should take the position on the division line. That person may or may not be the one who called the timeout.

It doesn't matter who calls it. It doesn't matter what the positions were when it was called.

Said another way...If the ball becomes dead for a timeout and the throw-in will be on your line, you take the ball to the spot after the report and your partner goes to the division line. If it will be on your partner's line, they take the ball to the spot and you go to the division line.

That said, I'm guessing that over 50% of the officials that I work with do it differently...the calling official goes to the division line. I just go along. No need making an issue of a rather trivial issue.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1