The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2011, 04:38pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFussRef View Post
A1 while controlling the ball in FC calls TO.

We return and TeamA is inbounding in FC... similar to the muffed pass in the OP, A1's pass to A2 bounces off A2 and into BC, A2 retrieves.
What do you have?
Are you asking the OP to answer, or are you not sure about the correct ruling?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2011, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Are you asking the OP to answer, or are you not sure about the correct ruling?
OP.

I believe I had a partner mistakenly apply NCAA Mens Rule in my sitch during a NFHS game. He explained his interp to a rightfully upset coach. Curious if OP would let A2 retrieve it or not.
__________________
Every time you blow your whistle, 50% of the people LOVE you, and 50% of the people HATE you.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2011, 05:23pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFussRef View Post
OP.

I believe I had a partner mistakenly apply NCAA Mens Rule in my sitch during a NFHS game. He explained his interp to a rightfully upset coach. Curious if OP would let A2 retrieve it or not.
While there's team control during a throw-in NCAA, there's a specific exception that allows the ball to be thrown into backcourt or caused to enter the backcourt before possession is established. Meaning the NCAA and NFHS rulings are exactly the same.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2011, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
While there's team control during a throw-in NCAA, there's a specific exception that allows the ball to be thrown into backcourt or caused to enter the backcourt before possession is established. Meaning the NCAA and NFHS rulings are exactly the same.
When I later questioned my P (senior to me in this one) he just muttered something about the throw-in ended when A2 touched blah blah, and told me he would check into it and get back to me... that was 2 weeks ago. So I am only assuming he was thinking NCAA TC on throw-in but your right, even if that is what he meant I forgot the fact that there is an BC exception even in NCAA.

Either way, I think Bob put it as clearly as possible:

It's a BC violation if the following four elements are met:

1) Team Control
2) The ball reaches the front court
3) A is the last to touch before the ball goes to the back court
4) A is the first to touch after the ball goes to the back court.

If all 4 are met, it's a violation. If even one is not met, it's not a violation.
__________________
Every time you blow your whistle, 50% of the people LOVE you, and 50% of the people HATE you.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2011, 10:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 70
Deva Vu

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFussRef View Post
Either way, I think Bob put it as clearly as possible:

It's a BC violation if the following four elements are met:

1) Team Control
2) The ball reaches the front court
3) A is the last to touch before the ball goes to the back court
4) A is the first to touch after the ball goes to the back court.

If all 4 are met, it's a violation. If even one is not met, it's not a violation.
I believe that is the best explanation well ever get.

over and back
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Possession cvscooby Basketball 12 Mon Jan 10, 2011 01:51pm
Team without possession calls time out during live ball Philz Basketball 24 Tue Jan 30, 2007 03:52pm
Team Possession or not? VaCoach Basketball 3 Sun Dec 10, 2006 04:56pm
2 Technicals on Team A... How many shots for Team B? bradfordwilkins Basketball 8 Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:29am
Team A foul on a try after B gains possession? mikesears Football 1 Wed Jun 04, 2003 05:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1