The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 08:15pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
If it was block vs. charge, yes. But not if one of the fouls is illegal use of hands or push.
Huh? One official signaled a player control foul, the other a block -- both were for the same contact. Clearly square in the wheelhouse of having to go with a double foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 10:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Huh? One official signaled a player control foul, the other a block -- both were for the same contact. Clearly square in the wheelhouse of having to go with a double foul.
Didn't see the play....if that is what you're referring to. It may well have been.

I'm commenting on the general case....

The case that establishes the ruling under discussion says that when a charge and a block are called, it is automatically a double foul. It doesn't say player control and a block.

A "charge" is a specific type of foul that is the direct counterpart to a block....where the contact results from one player running into the other and the foul is normally charged to one or the other based on who is responsible for the contact. It is a charge whether the player has the ball or not and need not be a player control foul at all.

The case doesn't cover any other type of player control foul (hold, illegal use of hands, push, etc.). For that matter, a player with player control could actually be guilty of a block in some cases where the defender is the one at risk of charging (think screening).

If one official calls a foul on a shooter for illegal use of hands for clearing out while the other calls a block for having a knee extended, those are two independent fouls. It may result in a double foul, but it is not because of the case.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2011, 01:11am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
I agree with Camron's take on the blarge. The blarge is a block vs. charge play. It just usually happens that the player has the ball. We don't see blarges on other block vs. charge plays because those are off ball and usually only one official is watching that action.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2011, 08:32am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Didn't see the play....if that is what you're referring to. It may well have been.

I'm commenting on the general case....

The case that establishes the ruling under discussion says that when a charge and a block are called, it is automatically a double foul. It doesn't say player control and a block.

A "charge" is a specific type of foul that is the direct counterpart to a block....where the contact results from one player running into the other and the foul is normally charged to one or the other based on who is responsible for the contact. It is a charge whether the player has the ball or not and need not be a player control foul at all.

The case doesn't cover any other type of player control foul (hold, illegal use of hands, push, etc.). For that matter, a player with player control could actually be guilty of a block in some cases where the defender is the one at risk of charging (think screening).

If one official calls a foul on a shooter for illegal use of hands for clearing out while the other calls a block for having a knee extended, those are two independent fouls. It may result in a double foul, but it is not because of the case.
I think that you've made some good points here. In this case it was a blarge, no doubt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blarge in Wake Forest/UGA game jdw3018 Basketball 5 Sun Dec 09, 2007 05:20am
Wisconsin v WSU Game Suudy Football 4 Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:46am
Instant Replay Wisconsin game WindyCityBlue Football 6 Thu Sep 09, 2004 10:04am
Wisconsin LDUB Baseball 5 Sun Jul 25, 2004 10:59am
Last 10 seconds on Indiana/Wisconsin Game The Observer Basketball 10 Fri Mar 10, 2000 08:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1