The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   over and back (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/62888-over-back.html)

ThatOneRef Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:45pm

over and back
 
Team A shoots the ball, ball hits the rim then deflects off of one of team A's players, the ball proceeds to go backcourt, team A recovers ball. Is this over and back? Team B had NO contact with the ball during all of this.

bainsey Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:48pm

Tell us, did Team A control the ball after the shot?

JugglingReferee Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ThatOneRef (Post 732061)
Team A shoots the ball, ball hits the rim then deflects off of one of team A's players, the ball proceeds to go backcourt, team A recovers ball. Is this over and back? Team B had NO contact with the ball during all of this.

No backcourt violation.

When A shot the ball, they ended their team control. The subsequent deflection does not assign team control to Team A (or B for that matter).

There are 4 requirements for a BC violation:
  • Team A has team control
  • The ball obtains FC status
  • Team A is the last to touch the ball
  • Team A is the first to touch the ball after the ball obtains BC status. The position of A and the the position of the ball when A touches the ball, or is touched by the ball, is of no significance.
Since there was no team control, and such team control is 1/4 points above, there cannot be a BC violation.

refiator Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:50pm

No. Team control ended on the shot and was never re-established, so there was never front court control. Without control in the front court, there can be no backcourt violation.

APG Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 732065)
No backcourt violation.

When A shot the ball, they ended their team control. The subsequent deflection does not assign team control to Team A (or B for that matter).

There are 4 requirements for a BC violation:
  • Team A has team control
  • The ball obtains FC status
  • Team A is the last to touch the ball in the FC
  • Team A is the first to touch the ball in the BC
Since there was no team control, and such team control is 1/4 points above, there cannot be a BC violation.

You should edit the last point. It should read:

Team A is the first to touch the ball after it has achieved a backcourt status. The ball need not be touched in the backcourt.

ThatOneRef Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:55pm

k
 
K, so since team A didn't regain possession after the shot it is NOT over and back. Thanks for the clarification guys.

JugglingReferee Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 732067)
You should edit the last point. It should read:

Team A is the first to touch the ball after it has achieved a backcourt status. The ball need not be touched in the backcourt.

Thanks. The pesky cases where the ball Englishes back to the FC or A reaches across the DL to grab the ball....

BktBallRef Sat Feb 19, 2011 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ThatOneRef (Post 732068)
K, so since team A didn't regain possession after the shot it is NOT over and back. Thanks for the clarification guys.


Yep, simple play that you don't know the ruling for, but you're ready to replace all the over the hill guys.

Right.

ThatOneRef Sun Feb 20, 2011 05:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 732077)
Yep, simple play that you don't know the ruling for, but you're ready to replace all the over the hill guys.

Right.

just a simple question old man, don't get your depends in a bunch.

JugglingReferee Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ThatOneRef (Post 732105)
just a simple question old man, don't get your depends in a bunch.

http://www.misanthropicgeek.com/wp-c...lie-brown1.jpg

JugglingReferee Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:25am

And after I posted the picture, he PMs me this:

Quote:

Originally Posted by ThatOneRef
lol, what are you doing on at 3 am? ffs! leave my posts alone! lol

So we know he's on the west coast. Perhaps southern California?

ThatOneRef Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 732113)
And after I posted the picture, he PMs me this:



So we know he's on the west coast. Perhaps southern California?

Are you serious? I'm really confused... alzheimer's?

ThatOneRef Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 732113)
And after I posted the picture, he PMs me this:



So we know he's on the west coast. Perhaps southern California?

read where it says "LOCATION" in the top right corner of the posts. GJ (good Job) i cant believe your still being an a$$ about an old 'troll' post. Grow up old man.

Jurassic Referee Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ThatOneRef (Post 732116)
Grow up old man.

Piss off, dickhead. We're over our azzhole quota.

You very obviously know squat about officiating but yet you still spend all your time here making wise-azz remarks instead of asking intelligent questions. If you just want to troll instead of trying to learn something, find someplace else to do it.

Just what we need....more f**king trolls. :rolleyes:

ThatOneRef Sun Feb 20, 2011 07:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 732122)
Piss off, dickhead. We're over our azzhole quota.

You very obviously know squat about officiating but yet you still spend all your time here making wise-azz remarks instead of asking intelligent questions. If you just want to troll instead of trying to learn something, find someplace else to do it.

Just what we need....more f**king trolls. :rolleyes:

Come on now, that's enough. Your not going anywhere positive with this. Just stop. Its a legit question and you come here just to be a jerk. Seriously. Grow up.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1