The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 08, 2002, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by dblref
When A1 "alights" on one foot, why doesn't this become his/her pivot foot?
You're not mis-reading. You just have misunderstood how the pivot foot is established. When one or both feet are off the ground, generally the pivot foot is not established until the second foot touches. If you catch the ball with one foot on the ground "it is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step." (4-43-2b.1) So if you catch it and then jump one foot, you haven't really lifted your pivot foot. Now when you land, however, you are not allowed to pivot at all.

Does that help?

Chuck


__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1