The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Feb 04, 2011, 10:19am
Official Forum Member

nerves

any of you veterans still/ever get nervous before your games? i'm in my third year,and have done about 150 games from jv down, but i'm still getting nervous before games. i'm kinda jumpy by nature so that doesn't help, but i thought my nerves would be better by now. thanks.
Old Fri Feb 04, 2011, 10:26am
Official Forum Member

There's nervous and there's nervous. I always want the "edge" that excitement and anticipation give me before a big game. But nowadays I don't get so anxious that I'm distracted by my own pounding heart.

If your nerves are a continuing distraction, then I recommend learning some controlled breathing and relaxation techniques. As part of your pre-game, they can minimize your body's adrenaline response and help you focus during the game.
Old Fri Feb 04, 2011, 10:32am
I miss being on the floor

Quote:
Originally Posted by stir22 View Post
any of you veterans still/ever get nervous before your games? i'm in my third year,and have done about 150 games from jv down, but i'm still getting nervous before games. i'm kinda jumpy by nature so that doesn't help, but i thought my nerves would be better by now. thanks.
I take it as a good thing. I'm in my second year and I get a little bit of butterflies, especially before my higher-level games. I know that if I get nervous, I'm up for the game.

The butterflies go away after the first whistle.
Old Fri Feb 04, 2011, 10:34am
Official Forum Member

I've done this for over 20 years, and still get a little nervous before a game. I've actually had a game or two where I've gone in totally relaxed and comfortable, and had a problem of some sort during the game, so I figured being too relaxed means I'm not concentrating enough.