The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 01:11am
Official Forum Member

So is this the end of my varsity officiating days?

I have been officiating for about 20 years now and do girls and boys HS V and sub V games (usually double headers each night) as often as I want - usually 3-4 nights a week. I have been wearing contact lenses off and on since 1988. Lately I have been having problems with my eyes and the use of contacts and finally the doctor said the best thing I can do is to go back to glasses since the irritation isn't worth it.

I know that glasses are typically frowned upon at the Varsity level (although I have never heard anyone in our association say anything about them) so I am wondering if this means I am going to be dropped from the Varsity roles now? I have called some V games wearing glasses when my eyes were bothering me and I had no issues and a couple of times an evaluator was there and didn't say a word. Maybe it isn't that big of a deal here but not sure. BTW, I have no desire to go to the college level where I know glasses are basically a show stopper for officials.

BTW, LASIK isn't an option for me (long story). I haven't spoken to my assigner yet since I just found this out. Oh well I guess I can always become table personnel - doesn't take much skill

How do the associations you belong to feel about officials with glasses?

Last edited by RobbyinTN; Tue Feb 01, 2011 at 01:21am.
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 01:19am
Get away from me, Steve.

My regular partner wears glasses 100% of the time. And he works as much as he wants.

Not everyone's eyes can take contacts. Not everyone's vision can be corrected with contacts.

Personally, I thought this line of thinking was pretty much dead.
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 01:30am
Do not give a damn!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post