The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Apr 05, 2000, 12:14am
Official Forum Member

Tim -

There is strength in numbers. Here is what I would have done. Have my partner and myself refuse to officiate the game if this coach is allowed to continue coaching for the tournament. Speak to the rest of the refs and get solidarity on this issue. Basically, refuse to officiate any more games until this coach is banned.

This ought to put THEM (the tournament coordinators)between a rock and a hard place, instead of putting YOU between a rock and a hard place.
Old Wed Apr 05, 2000, 10:56am
Official Forum Member

Lightbulb

hope everyone is having a greatday! i have been refereeing aau tournaments now for a few years and i love them, butt these coaches out there are taking the fun away from the game the kids age from 13 to 18 and they come from all over the world, and they are the pick of the crop! they cuss at the kids tell them how bad they are and then when there up by 65 points scream at a kid for missing a layup. my friends had a situation last friday night team up by 45 with 4 minutes to go coach is screaming calling the refs blind because they are not getting any calls. finally they get fed up double t him. kick him out of the gym, and guess whos coaching and screaming about 8 hours later you guessed it the coach who had just been kicked off the court a few hours earlier, now im working with one of the guys that had given him the double t earlier. we couldnt believe it. so we called the gym rep over explained the situation and she made a call and it was ok for him to coach because there were no bylaws stating he couldnt coach the next game after being kicked out. why do we ref? after we kick someone out for excessive demostration he gets too come back in and work the next game. its all about the money these teams pay top dollar too get in these tournaments and thats whats its all about. its