The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 01:21am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
It is not a backcourt violation

NCAA

7-6
Art. 9. After the throw-in ends, an inbounds player in the front court who is not in control of the ball may cause the ball to go into the back court.

Here's a case book play:

A.R. 217. The ball is at the disposal of Team A for a throw-in. A1 attempts to throw the inbounds pass to A2, who is located in his/her front court near the division line. (1) A1’s pass is deflected by B1. A2 leaves the playing court in his/her front court and while airborne, controls the ball, and then lands with one or both feet on the back court. (2) A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by B1. The ball bounces into Team A’s front court. While the ball is bouncing in Team A’s front court, it is deflected into Team A’s back court where A3 retrieves it. (3) A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by A2 who fumbles it into the back court. A2 then goes into the back court and recovers the fumble.

RULING: (1) Violation. When B1 deflected A1’s inbounds pass, his/ her legal touching caused the throw-in to end. A1, having established front court status when he/she left Team A’s front court, gained player and team control in the air. When A1 lands with one or both feet in his/ her backcourt, he/she has committed a backcourt violation. The exception to the backcourt rules are only applicable for the player who made the initial touch on the ball. (Rule 4-68.4 and 4-3)

(2) Legal. This is not a back-court violation since neither player nor team control had not been established in the front court.

(3) Legal. This is not a back-court violation since neither player nor team control had not been established in the front court. (Rule 9-12.1)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Mon Jan 31, 2011 at 01:26am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 01:30am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
And to answer the second part of your question, yes a timeout could be granted to either team since the ball was dead. The only restriction on time outs with no time left to end the fourth quarter or any extra period is that no successive timeouts will be granted.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interesting KO situation (NFHS) ppaltice Football 13 Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:46am
NFHS Situation 3.7.6 verticalStripes Football 6 Tue Aug 19, 2008 09:58am
NFHS: Situation 6 RookieDude Basketball 7 Tue Oct 21, 2003 04:45pm
SITUATION 7 from the NFHS BktBallRef Basketball 11 Tue Dec 31, 2002 12:13pm
NFHS Situation 13 greymule Baseball 22 Tue Mar 05, 2002 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1