The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 01:30pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
In the OP, B1 has a foul recorded in the book which he did not commit. I consider this a bookkeeping error, regardless of what caused it. Now B1 no longer has 5 fouls. No reason he can't play. JMO
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Look at it this way

What if it happened like this : The mistake came just before half time. The incorrect T given to B1 became his 3rd total foul. At halftime we discuss and realize our mistake. When returning to the court would you have the scorer correct our mistake in this situation? If so, then why not near the end of the second half?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
In the OP, B1 has a foul recorded in the book which he did not commit. I consider this a bookkeeping error, regardless of what caused it. Now B1 no longer has 5 fouls. No reason he can't play. JMO
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
What if it happened like this : The mistake came just before half time. The incorrect T given to B1 became his 3rd total foul. At halftime we discuss and realize our mistake. When returning to the court would you have the scorer correct our mistake in this situation? If so, then why not near the end of the second half?
I believe that once something is taken to the table, that is that.
Unless of course, you report the correct info & the table takes it down wrong. That would be a bookkeeping error.

An official reporting a player technical that is really a team technical is an officials error & not a correctable one... by rule.

If we follow procedures, we minimize the chance of officials errors in those situations. IJS
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Similar situation

This play actually happened this year: A couple minutes before halftime a held ball occurred. The arrow>Team A. A's endline throw-in by their own basket was kicked by B. The scorer asked the tableside trail if the arrow should be switched. The official incorrectly answered yes. The arrow was switched >B and noted in the scorebook. The other officials didn't realize the mistake at the time but during halftime they recognized the mistake. Before the 2nd half started the referee explained the error to both coaches and had the arrow reversed >A to start the half. Would you do the same thing as the referee or leave the arrow >B knowing full well the arrow was wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
This play actually happened this year: A couple minutes before halftime a held ball occurred. The arrow>Team A. A's endline throw-in by their own basket was kicked by B. The scorer asked the tableside trail if the arrow should be switched. The official incorrectly answered yes. The arrow was switched >B and noted in the scorebook. The other officials didn't realize the mistake at the time but during halftime they recognized the mistake. Before the 2nd half started the referee explained the error to both coaches and had the arrow reversed >A to start the half. Would you do the same thing as the referee or leave the arrow >B knowing full well the arrow was wrong?
Yes, and what happened to Billy Mac?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 02:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
I believe that once something is taken to the table, that is that.
Unless of course, you report the correct info & the table takes it down wrong. That would be a bookkeeping error.

An official reporting a player technical that is really a team technical is an officials error & not a correctable one... by rule.

If we follow procedures, we minimize the chance of officials errors in those situations. IJS
tref,

I'm not really singling out your post. It only looks like I am.

I don't buy that "once something is taken to the table, that is that". Every one of us has goofed up and reported a foul on White 32 when it was actually committed by White 23. Normally within a couple of seconds the scorekeeper or coach brings it to our attention. When that happens, do we stick to our guns? Even if there isn't a White 32? Of course not. We figure out who actually committed the foul, and report it correctly. And if it's two plays later before the mistake is recognized, we still correct it, if we're able to.

Why?

Because we made the right call; we just screwed up the reporting. Whether the scorekeeper incorrectly records what the official correctly reported, or the official incorrectly reports what he correctly called, a mistake in "record[ing] the personal and technical fouls" is a bookkeeping mistake. And a bookkeeping mistake can be corrected any time until the referee approves the final score. Assuming, of course, you have the correct information.

The OP, of course, is quite a different situation. But I am unconvinced that "by rule" it cannot be corrected. I simply cannot find any rule that says that if it is discovered that a player has erroneously been disqualified, that he shall remain disqualified. However, I find a compelling parallel in the opposite case: a player who has erroneously been allowed to remain in the game after committing his fifth foul. There is no window of opportunity for fixing this. When discovered, you simply remove the player from the game. No attempt is made to undo any result of his having remained in the game. To me, that is a much more relevant rule to extrapolate from than the awarding of a throw-in to the wrong team.

I'm with Nevada on this. When you realize the player was erroneously disqualified, let him back in the game. You were wrong once. Do you really need to continue being wrong?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 12:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
In the OP, B1 has a foul recorded in the book which he did not commit. I consider this a bookkeeping error, regardless of what caused it. Now B1 no longer has 5 fouls. No reason he can't play. JMO
The official said "Technical foul, blue #1."

The scorer records the T on blue #1.

That is NOT a bookkeeping error.

It's an official's error.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"I Stand Corrected... rainmaker Basketball 13 Sun Mar 27, 2005 08:12pm
Lasik Surgery (Spelling Corrected) ReadyToRef Basketball 10 Tue Jul 20, 2004 08:16pm
Corrected correctly Hawks Coach Basketball 3 Mon Apr 28, 2003 06:52pm
Proper Mechanic on Corrected Call insatty Baseball 2 Mon Jun 17, 2002 10:05pm
Time-Outs and Errors that can be corrected Mark Dexter Basketball 15 Wed Nov 15, 2000 10:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1