The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul on last second shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60341-foul-last-second-shot.html)

splitveer Mon Jan 03, 2011 08:49pm

Foul on last second shot
 
End of the third quarter and the ball is passed in to A1. A1 turns to shoot and the ball is blocked and never leaves his hand. B1 fouls the airborne shooter after time expires on the horn. What procedure must we follow? Do we ignore the foul since it was after the horn? Do we still have a foul since the shooter is airborne? Thanks for the help.

Adam Mon Jan 03, 2011 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711759)
End of the third quarter and the ball is passed in to A1. A1 turns to shoot and the ball is blocked and never leaves his hand. B1 fouls the airborne shooter after time expires on the horn. What procedure must we follow? Do we ignore the foul since it was after the horn? Do we still have a foul since the shooter is airborne? Thanks for the help.

shoot the shots. A foul on or by an airborne shooter, even when the ball is dead, is still a personal foul.

26 Year Gap Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711759)
End of the third quarter and the ball is passed in to A1. A1 turns to shoot and the ball is blocked and never leaves his hand. B1 fouls the airborne shooter after time expires on the horn. What procedure must we follow? Do we ignore the foul since it was after the horn? Do we still have a foul since the shooter is airborne? Thanks for the help.

So, B1 stuffed A1? I have a held ball or nothing. You would have to describe in more detail what B1 did. And when.

Adam Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 711769)
So, B1 stuffed A1? I have a held ball or nothing. You would have to describe in more detail what B1 did. And when.

He said A1 had his shot blocked, but he didn't say it was B1.

26 Year Gap Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 711776)
He said A1 had his shot blocked, but he didn't say it was B1.

He will have to describe the play in greater detail then.

deecee Tue Jan 04, 2011 12:11am

from what is described here unless the contact it pretty severe it sounds like a no call.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 04, 2011 06:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711759)
End of the third quarter and the ball is passed in to A1. A1 turns to shoot and the ball is blocked and never leaves his hand. B1 fouls the airborne shooter after time expires on the horn. What procedure must we follow? Do we ignore the foul since it was after the horn? Do we still have a foul since the shooter is airborne? Thanks for the help.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 711761)
shoot the shots. A foul on or by an airborne shooter, even when the ball is dead, is still a personal foul.

However, there is no airborne shooter in this play by definition, so unless the foul is deemed to be intentional or flagrant the contact is to be ignored by rule.

Adam Tue Jan 04, 2011 08:06am

Doh! Good point.

splitveer Tue Jan 04, 2011 01:01pm

Sorry everyone. I should have been a bit more specific. What I am wanting to know is can there be a foul after the horn for the end of a quarter or game?

Is the contact ignored if you have an airborne shooter and the foul occurs after the horn?

I am looking for a rule or case that supports this.

Thanks for the help.

Adam Tue Jan 04, 2011 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711890)
Sorry everyone. I should have been a bit more specific. What I am wanting to know is can there be a foul after the horn for the end of a quarter or game?

Is the contact ignored if you have an airborne shooter and the foul occurs after the horn?

I am looking for a rule or case that supports this.

Thanks for the help.

If he is indeed an airborne shooter (he has to have released the shot), then yes, you can have a foul after the horn.
4-19-1 is your rule reference.

26 Year Gap Tue Jan 04, 2011 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711890)
Sorry everyone. I should have been a bit more specific. What I am wanting to know is can there be a foul after the horn for the end of a quarter or game?

Is the contact ignored if you have an airborne shooter and the foul occurs after the horn?

I am looking for a rule or case that supports this.

Thanks for the help.

Is there a B2 in your play?

bob jenkins Tue Jan 04, 2011 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711890)
Sorry everyone. I should have been a bit more specific. What I am wanting to know is can there be a foul after the horn for the end of a quarter or game?

Is the contact ignored if you have an airborne shooter and the foul occurs after the horn?

I am looking for a rule or case that supports this.

Thanks for the help.

Does the horn end the period? See 6-1-2 Excp

Back In The Saddle Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 711891)
If he is indeed an airborne shooter (he has to have released the shot), then yes, you can have a foul after the horn.
4-19-1 is your rule reference.

So...you're saying A1 cannot be an airborne shooter if he never releases the ball? Ever? Really?

Hmmm, I would have thought that beginning the habitual throwing movement would be enough to designate A1 as a shooter. I would also have thought that it is not essential that the ball leave the player’s hand as a foul could prevent release of the ball.

Or was what you were getting at that when airborne A1 was prevented from releasing the try it resulted in a held ball, the ball becoming dead, thus ending the try? Thus any contact would be ignored unless it was intentional or flagrant.

Yeah, that had to be it. :)

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 05, 2011 07:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 712002)
So...you're saying A1 cannot be an airborne shooter if he never releases the ball? Ever? Really?

Hmmm, I would have thought that beginning the habitual throwing movement would be enough to designate A1 as a shooter. I would also have thought that it is not essential that the ball leave the player’s hand as a foul could prevent release of the ball.

Or was what you were getting at that when airborne A1 was prevented from releasing the try it resulted in a held ball, the ball becoming dead, thus ending the try? Thus any contact would be ignored unless it was intentional or flagrant.

Yeah, that had to be it. :)

Snaqs is saying that because NFHS rule 4-1 states that "An airborne shooter is a player who has RELEASED the ball on a try for a goal......", A1 cannot be an airborne shooter if he never releases the ball. Never! Really!


Yeah, that had to be it. :D

Adam Wed Jan 05, 2011 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 712002)
So...you're saying A1 cannot be an airborne shooter if he never releases the ball? Ever? Really?

Hmmm, I would have thought that beginning the habitual throwing movement would be enough to designate A1 as a shooter. I would also have thought that it is not essential that the ball leave the player’s hand as a foul could prevent release of the ball.

Or was what you were getting at that when airborne A1 was prevented from releasing the try it resulted in a held ball, the ball becoming dead, thus ending the try? Thus any contact would be ignored unless it was intentional or flagrant.

Yeah, that had to be it. :)

As Jurassic stated.....

Additionally, for the purposes of determining if it's a personal foul for contact during a dead ball, it matters whether the player is an "airborne shooter" by definition. If he doesn't release the ball before the horn sounds, the ball is dead and he is not an airborne shooter; therefore if he's contacted after the horn, it's either a T or nothing.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1