The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul on last second shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60341-foul-last-second-shot.html)

Indianaref Wed Jan 05, 2011 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711759)
End of the third quarter and the ball is passed in to A1. A1 turns to shoot and the ball is blocked and never leaves his hand. B1 fouls the airborne shooter after time expires on the horn. What procedure must we follow? Do we ignore the foul since it was after the horn? Do we still have a foul since the shooter is airborne? Thanks for the help.

If A1 is fouled in the Act of Shooting by B1, but time expires before the ball is in flight, A1 will shoot free throws.

Pantherdreams Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:25pm

A bunch of stuff going on in this post. As I understand the rule:

1 - If a player is fouled in the act shooting they shoot free throws.

2 - If the players shot is blocked, I'm not likely to call a foul after the shot is blocked as they are no longer disadvantaged. Unless the contact is severe enough to warrant an unsportsmanlike (intentional/flagrant in Fed terms).

3 - If the whistle has not blown to end the quarter/game then the play is live.

4 - Any mild or inadvertant contact at this moment or after the whisle as a result of movement just prior is not going to get called. If their is excessive contact during a dead ball it is going to be an unsportsmanlike.

Pantherdreams Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:26pm

A bunch of stuff going on in this post. As I understand the rule:

1 - If a player is fouled in the act shooting they shoot free throws.

2 - If the players shot is blocked, I'm not likely to call a foul after the shot is blocked as they are no longer disadvantaged. Unless the contact is severe enough to warrant an unsportsmanlike (intentional/flagrant in Fed terms).

3 - If the whistle has not blown to end the quarter/game then the play is live.

4 - Any mild or inadvertant contact at this moment or after the whisle as a result of movement just prior is not going to get called. If their is excessive contact during a dead ball it is going to be an unsportsmanlike.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 712155)
3 - If the whistle has not blown to end the quarter/game then the play is live.

4 - Any mild or inadvertant contact at this moment or after the whisle as a result of movement just prior is not going to get called. If their is excessive contact during a dead ball it is going to be an unsportsmanlike.

References, please.

Adam Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 712162)
References, please.

I think he's using NATO rules.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 712164)
I think he's using NATO rules.

Ah -- probably so. I didn't notice the location before.

26 Year Gap Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 712165)
Eh -- probably so. I didn't notice the location before.

Fixed it for ya.

Adam Wed Jan 05, 2011 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 712156)
A bunch of stuff going on in this post. As I understand the rule:


Actually, the question was pretty simple. "Is it possible to have a shooting foul committed after time has expired." The answer is yes, even after picking the situation itself apart.

The rest are just questions about judgment on a hypothetical situation.

26 Year Gap Wed Jan 05, 2011 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 712171)
Actually, the question was pretty simple. "Is it possible to have a shooting foul committed after time has expired." The answer is yes, even after picking the situation itself apart.

The rest are just questions about judgment on a hypothetical situation.

Still don't know if there was a B-2 present, but a HTBT for sure.

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 05, 2011 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 712049)
Snaqs is saying that because NFHS rule 4-1 states that "An airborne shooter is a player who has RELEASED the ball on a try for a goal......", A1 cannot be an airborne shooter if he never releases the ball. Never! Really!


Yeah, that had to be it. :D

Ummm, yep. That had to be it. :D (Gotta stop posting late at night)

BillyMac Wed Jan 05, 2011 02:00pm

Probably Won't Work Much Longer ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 712200)
Gotta stop posting late at night.

I always blame the nog.

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 05, 2011 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 712212)
I always blame the nog.

Oh, it was definitely the nog. I should have had some.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1