The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul on last second shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60341-foul-last-second-shot.html)

splitveer Mon Jan 03, 2011 08:49pm

Foul on last second shot
 
End of the third quarter and the ball is passed in to A1. A1 turns to shoot and the ball is blocked and never leaves his hand. B1 fouls the airborne shooter after time expires on the horn. What procedure must we follow? Do we ignore the foul since it was after the horn? Do we still have a foul since the shooter is airborne? Thanks for the help.

Adam Mon Jan 03, 2011 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711759)
End of the third quarter and the ball is passed in to A1. A1 turns to shoot and the ball is blocked and never leaves his hand. B1 fouls the airborne shooter after time expires on the horn. What procedure must we follow? Do we ignore the foul since it was after the horn? Do we still have a foul since the shooter is airborne? Thanks for the help.

shoot the shots. A foul on or by an airborne shooter, even when the ball is dead, is still a personal foul.

26 Year Gap Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711759)
End of the third quarter and the ball is passed in to A1. A1 turns to shoot and the ball is blocked and never leaves his hand. B1 fouls the airborne shooter after time expires on the horn. What procedure must we follow? Do we ignore the foul since it was after the horn? Do we still have a foul since the shooter is airborne? Thanks for the help.

So, B1 stuffed A1? I have a held ball or nothing. You would have to describe in more detail what B1 did. And when.

Adam Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 711769)
So, B1 stuffed A1? I have a held ball or nothing. You would have to describe in more detail what B1 did. And when.

He said A1 had his shot blocked, but he didn't say it was B1.

26 Year Gap Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 711776)
He said A1 had his shot blocked, but he didn't say it was B1.

He will have to describe the play in greater detail then.

deecee Tue Jan 04, 2011 12:11am

from what is described here unless the contact it pretty severe it sounds like a no call.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 04, 2011 06:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711759)
End of the third quarter and the ball is passed in to A1. A1 turns to shoot and the ball is blocked and never leaves his hand. B1 fouls the airborne shooter after time expires on the horn. What procedure must we follow? Do we ignore the foul since it was after the horn? Do we still have a foul since the shooter is airborne? Thanks for the help.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 711761)
shoot the shots. A foul on or by an airborne shooter, even when the ball is dead, is still a personal foul.

However, there is no airborne shooter in this play by definition, so unless the foul is deemed to be intentional or flagrant the contact is to be ignored by rule.

Adam Tue Jan 04, 2011 08:06am

Doh! Good point.

splitveer Tue Jan 04, 2011 01:01pm

Sorry everyone. I should have been a bit more specific. What I am wanting to know is can there be a foul after the horn for the end of a quarter or game?

Is the contact ignored if you have an airborne shooter and the foul occurs after the horn?

I am looking for a rule or case that supports this.

Thanks for the help.

Adam Tue Jan 04, 2011 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711890)
Sorry everyone. I should have been a bit more specific. What I am wanting to know is can there be a foul after the horn for the end of a quarter or game?

Is the contact ignored if you have an airborne shooter and the foul occurs after the horn?

I am looking for a rule or case that supports this.

Thanks for the help.

If he is indeed an airborne shooter (he has to have released the shot), then yes, you can have a foul after the horn.
4-19-1 is your rule reference.

26 Year Gap Tue Jan 04, 2011 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711890)
Sorry everyone. I should have been a bit more specific. What I am wanting to know is can there be a foul after the horn for the end of a quarter or game?

Is the contact ignored if you have an airborne shooter and the foul occurs after the horn?

I am looking for a rule or case that supports this.

Thanks for the help.

Is there a B2 in your play?

bob jenkins Tue Jan 04, 2011 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711890)
Sorry everyone. I should have been a bit more specific. What I am wanting to know is can there be a foul after the horn for the end of a quarter or game?

Is the contact ignored if you have an airborne shooter and the foul occurs after the horn?

I am looking for a rule or case that supports this.

Thanks for the help.

Does the horn end the period? See 6-1-2 Excp

Back In The Saddle Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 711891)
If he is indeed an airborne shooter (he has to have released the shot), then yes, you can have a foul after the horn.
4-19-1 is your rule reference.

So...you're saying A1 cannot be an airborne shooter if he never releases the ball? Ever? Really?

Hmmm, I would have thought that beginning the habitual throwing movement would be enough to designate A1 as a shooter. I would also have thought that it is not essential that the ball leave the player’s hand as a foul could prevent release of the ball.

Or was what you were getting at that when airborne A1 was prevented from releasing the try it resulted in a held ball, the ball becoming dead, thus ending the try? Thus any contact would be ignored unless it was intentional or flagrant.

Yeah, that had to be it. :)

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 05, 2011 07:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 712002)
So...you're saying A1 cannot be an airborne shooter if he never releases the ball? Ever? Really?

Hmmm, I would have thought that beginning the habitual throwing movement would be enough to designate A1 as a shooter. I would also have thought that it is not essential that the ball leave the player’s hand as a foul could prevent release of the ball.

Or was what you were getting at that when airborne A1 was prevented from releasing the try it resulted in a held ball, the ball becoming dead, thus ending the try? Thus any contact would be ignored unless it was intentional or flagrant.

Yeah, that had to be it. :)

Snaqs is saying that because NFHS rule 4-1 states that "An airborne shooter is a player who has RELEASED the ball on a try for a goal......", A1 cannot be an airborne shooter if he never releases the ball. Never! Really!


Yeah, that had to be it. :D

Adam Wed Jan 05, 2011 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 712002)
So...you're saying A1 cannot be an airborne shooter if he never releases the ball? Ever? Really?

Hmmm, I would have thought that beginning the habitual throwing movement would be enough to designate A1 as a shooter. I would also have thought that it is not essential that the ball leave the player’s hand as a foul could prevent release of the ball.

Or was what you were getting at that when airborne A1 was prevented from releasing the try it resulted in a held ball, the ball becoming dead, thus ending the try? Thus any contact would be ignored unless it was intentional or flagrant.

Yeah, that had to be it. :)

As Jurassic stated.....

Additionally, for the purposes of determining if it's a personal foul for contact during a dead ball, it matters whether the player is an "airborne shooter" by definition. If he doesn't release the ball before the horn sounds, the ball is dead and he is not an airborne shooter; therefore if he's contacted after the horn, it's either a T or nothing.

Indianaref Wed Jan 05, 2011 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 711759)
End of the third quarter and the ball is passed in to A1. A1 turns to shoot and the ball is blocked and never leaves his hand. B1 fouls the airborne shooter after time expires on the horn. What procedure must we follow? Do we ignore the foul since it was after the horn? Do we still have a foul since the shooter is airborne? Thanks for the help.

If A1 is fouled in the Act of Shooting by B1, but time expires before the ball is in flight, A1 will shoot free throws.

Pantherdreams Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:25pm

A bunch of stuff going on in this post. As I understand the rule:

1 - If a player is fouled in the act shooting they shoot free throws.

2 - If the players shot is blocked, I'm not likely to call a foul after the shot is blocked as they are no longer disadvantaged. Unless the contact is severe enough to warrant an unsportsmanlike (intentional/flagrant in Fed terms).

3 - If the whistle has not blown to end the quarter/game then the play is live.

4 - Any mild or inadvertant contact at this moment or after the whisle as a result of movement just prior is not going to get called. If their is excessive contact during a dead ball it is going to be an unsportsmanlike.

Pantherdreams Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:26pm

A bunch of stuff going on in this post. As I understand the rule:

1 - If a player is fouled in the act shooting they shoot free throws.

2 - If the players shot is blocked, I'm not likely to call a foul after the shot is blocked as they are no longer disadvantaged. Unless the contact is severe enough to warrant an unsportsmanlike (intentional/flagrant in Fed terms).

3 - If the whistle has not blown to end the quarter/game then the play is live.

4 - Any mild or inadvertant contact at this moment or after the whisle as a result of movement just prior is not going to get called. If their is excessive contact during a dead ball it is going to be an unsportsmanlike.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 712155)
3 - If the whistle has not blown to end the quarter/game then the play is live.

4 - Any mild or inadvertant contact at this moment or after the whisle as a result of movement just prior is not going to get called. If their is excessive contact during a dead ball it is going to be an unsportsmanlike.

References, please.

Adam Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 712162)
References, please.

I think he's using NATO rules.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 712164)
I think he's using NATO rules.

Ah -- probably so. I didn't notice the location before.

26 Year Gap Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 712165)
Eh -- probably so. I didn't notice the location before.

Fixed it for ya.

Adam Wed Jan 05, 2011 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 712156)
A bunch of stuff going on in this post. As I understand the rule:


Actually, the question was pretty simple. "Is it possible to have a shooting foul committed after time has expired." The answer is yes, even after picking the situation itself apart.

The rest are just questions about judgment on a hypothetical situation.

26 Year Gap Wed Jan 05, 2011 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 712171)
Actually, the question was pretty simple. "Is it possible to have a shooting foul committed after time has expired." The answer is yes, even after picking the situation itself apart.

The rest are just questions about judgment on a hypothetical situation.

Still don't know if there was a B-2 present, but a HTBT for sure.

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 05, 2011 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 712049)
Snaqs is saying that because NFHS rule 4-1 states that "An airborne shooter is a player who has RELEASED the ball on a try for a goal......", A1 cannot be an airborne shooter if he never releases the ball. Never! Really!


Yeah, that had to be it. :D

Ummm, yep. That had to be it. :D (Gotta stop posting late at night)

BillyMac Wed Jan 05, 2011 02:00pm

Probably Won't Work Much Longer ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 712200)
Gotta stop posting late at night.

I always blame the nog.

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 05, 2011 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 712212)
I always blame the nog.

Oh, it was definitely the nog. I should have had some.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1