The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2010, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorktown Va.
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Upward ref
free throw

Went to observe my peers tues. night. BV; With about 5 mnutes left in the last quarter, during the first shot of a two shot free throw for visiting team, home HC has all 5 players huddle up for a short time out , (first two and last two lane spaces unoccupied) and then the home players return for the second shot . I'm looking for a violation signal but we play on instead . Am i correct ?
__________________
Upward ref
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2010, 02:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
This should not have been allowed, period.

Instruct the coach that he needs to have two players on the lane. If he refuses, it's a T.
10-1-5b
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Thu Dec 23, 2010 at 02:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2010, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upward ref View Post
Went to observe my peers tues. night. BV; With about 5 mnutes left in the last quarter, during the first shot of a two shot free throw for visiting team, home HC has all 5 players huddle up for a short time out , (first two and last two lane spaces unoccupied) and then the home players return for the second shot . I'm looking for a violation signal but we play on instead . Am i correct ?
No, it's not a violation. You have a technical foul.

The first two lane space must be occupied by the opponents. The FTs cannot be shot without those spots being occupied.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2010, 04:02pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
It would be a violation following a timeout or intermission.

See case book play 9.1.2 Situation A.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 24, 2010, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorktown Va.
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Upward ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
It would be a violation following a timeout or intermission.

See case book play 9.1.2 Situation A.
OK , but there was no delay really.In my OP, A-1,2,3,4,5, all just rotted over to their bench before the first f t , then trotted on back and lined up for the second throw before it was administered. I've been studying and can't seem to find it in the tech. fouls, thats why I thought it was a violation. Rule 9-1 penalties don't address it ,other than mentioning 8-1-4-(c) restrictions. 8.1.4.c has a violation for "improper alignment" with an offensive player in a defensive lane space, not a T.
1) Would it be a team T, a direct on the coach or what? citation please
( I can't see a coach refusing after being told )Our assoc. teaches a lot of preventive officiating ,but what if my partner or I didn't think to warn the coach ? Or my partner or I administered the free throw too fast without warning the coach?


thanks
__________________
Upward ref
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 24, 2010, 11:48am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upward ref View Post
OK , but there was no delay really.
Sure there was. Team B has to occupy the bottom two lane spaces. In your play, we can't shoot until they do.

Direct team b to occupy the space and if they refuse, it is a team technical for delay of game. If you are coming out of a time out or intermission, you use the resumption of play procedure instead.

Case play 10.1.5 Situation C fits your play.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 24, 2010, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upward ref View Post
OK , but there was no delay really.In my OP, A-1,2,3,4,5, all just rotted over to their bench before the first f t , then trotted on back and lined up for the second throw before it was administered. I've been studying and can't seem to find it in the tech. fouls, thats why I thought it was a violation. Rule 9-1 penalties don't address it ,other than mentioning 8-1-4-(c) restrictions. 8.1.4.c has a violation for "improper alignment" with an offensive player in a defensive lane space, not a T.
1) Would it be a team T, a direct on the coach or what? citation please
( I can't see a coach refusing after being told )Our assoc. teaches a lot of preventive officiating ,but what if my partner or I didn't think to warn the coach ? Or my partner or I administered the free throw too fast without warning the coach/
Very simply you do NOT administer the FT until the opponent occupies the two bottom spaces.

You ask for two players.

If you don't get them, it's a T.

10-1-5b & 10.1.5 SITUATION C (b)
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 24, 2010, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Very simply you do NOT administer the FT until the opponent occupies the two bottom spaces.

You ask for two players.

If you don't get them, it's a T.

10-1-5b & 10.1.5 SITUATION C (b)
An dat's da name a dat tune!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2010, 03:44pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upward ref View Post
Went to observe my peers tues. night. BV; With about 5 mnutes left in the last quarter, during the first shot of a two shot free throw for visiting team, home HC has all 5 players huddle up for a short time out , (first two and last two lane spaces unoccupied) and then the home players return for the second shot . I'm looking for a violation signal but we play on instead . Am i correct ?
Well, I know you weren't at my game. You need to shoot me an PM.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Throw CE? wyo96 Basketball 1 Mon Oct 26, 2009 08:11pm
Free Throw-2 man; huh? CK Basketball 4 Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:53pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Free Throw Virginia Basketball 2 Thu Feb 10, 2000 05:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1