The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2010, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
It was purely accidental. However, if it causes B2 to a disadvantage it has to be something. But would it fall under the automatic "Intentional" for contacting the player throwing the ball in?
Agree with just another ref - it doesn't fit the intentional definition. If it was purely accidental, I'd probably just blow the whistle and give it back to B for a throw in (can run the endline).
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!

Last edited by TimTaylor; Sat Dec 18, 2010 at 11:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2010, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor View Post
Agree with just another ref - it doesn't fit the intentional definition. If it was purely accidental, I'd probably just blow the whistle and give it back to A for a throw in (can run the endline).
I agree with not fitting the intentional, but in my previous post I can see the other side also. However, it has to be something if it causes a disadvantage and I don't know if what you described would work IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2010, 11:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor View Post
Agree with just another ref - it doesn't fit the intentional definition. If it was purely accidental, I'd probably just blow the whistle and give it back to B for a throw in (can run the endline).
While I can agree with not going intentional, I don't think you can just go with a do-over. Call the common foul. Being clumsy may not be illegal, but it also doesn't absolve the new defender from responsibility for the contact.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2010, 11:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
While I can agree with not going intentional, I don't think you can just go with a do-over. Call the common foul. Being clumsy may not be illegal, but it also doesn't absolve the new defender from responsibility for the contact.
So a common foul can be called for contact on the other side of the throw in plane?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2010, 11:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
So a common foul can be called for contact on the other side of the throw in plane?
Why not?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2010, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Why not?
I'm not disagreeing I have just never seen it. Which again doesnt mean it can't happen. In my mind, I guess from case plays of a player "reaching in" and fouling the throw inner results in an Intentional Foul, I am thinking it can only by intentional.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2010, 11:52pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor View Post
If it was purely accidental, I'd probably just blow the whistle and give it back to B for a throw in (can run the endline).
I don't see how you could do that. If A1 accidentally contacts B1 in the process of getting up and reentering the court, I see no reason why you couldn't have a common foul. If he tries to make a play and contacts the thrower, I think you could go with the intentional, no matter where A1 was standing when the contact occurred.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2010, 11:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I don't see how you could do that. If A1 accidentally contacts B1 in the process of getting up and reentering the court, I see no reason why you couldn't have a common foul. If he tries to make a play and contacts the thrower, I think you could go with the intentional, no matter where A1 was standing when the contact occurred.
I like that description and I think that is the missing link. Accidental but causing disadvantage = Common

Making an attempt at the ball and contact = Intentional
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 346
Think about the nature and intent of the rule and act. I can't see even a common foul in this case. .
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 12:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I don't see how you could do that. If A1 accidentally contacts B1 in the process of getting up and reentering the court, I see no reason why you couldn't have a common foul. If he tries to make a play and contacts the thrower, I think you could go with the intentional, no matter where A1 was standing when the contact occurred.
It depends on the situation - too many unknown variables. Was B2 standing over/too close to A1 for him to be able to get up without interfering. Was A1 slow in getting up indicating a possible injury? In that case, if B2 hasn't yet inbounded the ball, stopping play for a possible injury is fully justified as MTD indicated. It's one of those HTBT situations, and since it's purely hypothetical there's no right answer. It could be common, could be intentional or could be nothing depending on the specifics of the situation.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 12:17am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor View Post
It depends on the situation - too many unknown variables. Was B2 standing over/too close to A1 for him to be able to get up without interfering. Was A1 slow in getting up indicating a possible injury? In that case, if B2 hasn't yet inbounded the ball, stopping play for a possible injury is fully justified as MTD indicated. It's one of those HTBT situations, and since it's purely hypothetical there's no right answer. It could be common, could be intentional or could be nothing depending on the specifics of the situation.
I thought that was what we were doing, covering the variables. If A1 is attempting to return to the court and B1 makes a point of contacting him, you could conceivably have a foul on B1.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 03:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
I'm not calling an IF on this one....but I'm also not letting B1 lose the ball.

I'm inclined to just kill the play and restart.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 07:41am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I'm not calling an IF on this one....but I'm also not letting B1 lose the ball.

I'm inclined to just kill the play and restart.
+1 with Camron and Tim if the contact was deemed accidental without intent.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 07:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor View Post
Agree with just another ref - it doesn't fit the intentional definition. If it was purely accidental, I'd probably just blow the whistle and give it back to B for a throw in (can run the endline).
+1

Even though the ball is live in this situation, I see it as akin to dead-ball contact: ignore it unless the foul would be intentional or flagrant.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When is hair contact a contact? OmniSpiker Volleyball 6 Tue Nov 04, 2008 06:27pm
contact/violation during free throw refnjoe Basketball 15 Thu Jan 25, 2007 08:42am
illegal contact during Free Throw? ysong Basketball 5 Thu Nov 11, 2004 10:20am
Throw-In Contact bwbuddy Basketball 16 Sat Nov 08, 2003 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1