The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2010, 01:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
I just don't get where some people are saying he has gathered with his right foot??? He doesn't bring the ball together to both hands (gather) until he is on his left foot meaning that the jump stop is step one, if he had wanted to he could've even pivoted after the jump stop. That is a legal play at any level of ball...
__________________
"players must decide the outcome of the game with legal actions, not illegal actions which an official chooses to ignore."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2010, 01:25am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
I just don't get where some people are saying he has gathered with his right foot??? He doesn't bring the ball together to both hands (gather) until he is on his left foot meaning that the jump stop is step one, if he had wanted to he could've even pivoted after the jump stop. That is a legal play at any level of ball...
I agree it's close. I did see a view on ESPN earlier today from the baseline that convinced me that Manu gathered the ball with the right foot on the floor.

I think the important thing is it's pretty conclusive that this play was legal.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2010, 01:30am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Speaking of Manu, just took a charge on Carmelo Anthony to wipe out a game winning lay-up and win the game. Outstanding call by Rodney Mott and Haywoode Workman.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Fri Dec 17, 2010 at 01:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2010, 07:33am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
I just don't get where some people are saying he has gathered with his right foot??? He doesn't bring the ball together to both hands (gather) until he is on his left foot meaning that the jump stop is step one, if he had wanted to he could've even pivoted after the jump stop. That is a legal play at any level of ball...
Stick to the NBA rules, Ben. You don't know the other ones that well. Even if what you say above is true, you still can't legally pivot under both NCAA and NFHS rules after gathering the ball with one foot on the floor and then jumping of that foot to land simultaneously on both feet. Never could. Still can't.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2010, 08:14am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
I just don't get where some people are saying he has gathered with his right foot??? He doesn't bring the ball together to both hands (gather) until he is on his left foot meaning that the jump stop is step one, if he had wanted to he could've even pivoted after the jump stop. That is a legal play at any level of ball...
Where in the hell did you get that definition of "gathered?" He ends his dribble with the right foot on the floor, steps backwards with his left, then jumps and lands on both feet simultaneously. NFHS and NCAA, this is a travel as soon as that right foot hits the floor.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2010, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Where in the hell did you get that definition of "gathered?" He ends his dribble with the right foot on the floor, steps backwards with his left, then jumps and lands on both feet simultaneously. NFHS and NCAA, this is a travel as soon as that right foot hits the floor.
I actually think there's room for debate on whether he had gathered the ball before the right foot came off the ground. At first blush I thought for sure he had. After watching the replays I felt less certain. I believe it may be a legal play under NFHS or NCAA rules.

It definitely is (as has been established here) by NBA standards.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2010, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: depends on your perspective
Posts: 697
I'm surprised noone has mentioned the defender appears to have caused Manu to momentarily lose control of the ball while trying to gather it. No control = no travel.

Last edited by DLH17; Fri Dec 17, 2010 at 04:59pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1